Help w/ plot, locked, specific-key required Hidden Trapdoors

Moderator: Event DM

Post Reply
User avatar
CPU
Team Member; Retired with Honors
Posts: 5161
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 4:27 pm
Location: NY. USA (-4GMT)

Help w/ plot, locked, specific-key required Hidden Trapdoors

Post by CPU » Fri Oct 08, 2004 12:52 am

I'm working on a house for a player. He needs a hidden trap door, BUT we'd like to make it plot and require a specific key. The Hidden Trapdoors are triggers, not actual door placeables, and thus have no ability to alter it's characteristics in this way.

The Slaver's Deep in the Wilderness Module has a locked trapdoor leading to it. I would like something like that. This is a players house though, so we can't add in all sorts of exotic scripting. Any sort of help would be appreciated! Thanks.
Enverex
Sage
Posts: 2060
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2004 3:05 pm
Location: Worcester, UK
Contact:

Post by Enverex » Fri Oct 08, 2004 1:07 am

The slavers entrance isn't hidden though, it is always visible (just pointing that out incase you weren't aware).
User avatar
CPU
Team Member; Retired with Honors
Posts: 5161
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 4:27 pm
Location: NY. USA (-4GMT)

Post by CPU » Fri Oct 08, 2004 1:15 am

Enverex wrote:The slavers entrance isn't hidden though, it is always visible (just pointing that out incase you weren't aware).
I'm not sure that's true. Once it is located through a search it does not fade from view again until server reset... unless it's been changed. That is one of the standard options for it to reset or not, depending on the trigger used.

Needless, I don't really need it to vanish or be hidden or secret. If i could get any gumption just how to make it lock and need a specific key and to be plot, I think I'd make the future house owner to be very happy.
User avatar
Jeffi0
Apprentice Scholar
Posts: 567
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 12:57 am

Post by Jeffi0 » Fri Oct 08, 2004 1:30 am

I don't know if I'm understanding what you want correctly, but I don't see why you should have a problem... The Hidden Trapdoor placeables under Standard Placeable, Secret Object can be locked like a normal door and set to plot. Also, I believe the trapdoor in the Wilderness isn't really there until someone enters a trigger and makes the spot check. Then the trigger creates the trapdoor there, and it'll stay for everyone else. You can probably use this for this trapdoor too, except it's kinda useless as it'll usually be visible to everyone anyway.
User avatar
CPU
Team Member; Retired with Honors
Posts: 5161
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 4:27 pm
Location: NY. USA (-4GMT)

Post by CPU » Fri Oct 08, 2004 2:27 am

Jeffi0 wrote:I don't know if I'm understanding what you want correctly, but I don't see why you should have a problem... The Hidden Trapdoor placeables under Standard Placeable, Secret Object can be locked like a normal door and set to plot. Also, I believe the trapdoor in the Wilderness isn't really there until someone enters a trigger and makes the spot check. Then the trigger creates the trapdoor there, and it'll stay for everyone else. You can probably use this for this trapdoor too, except it's kinda useless as it'll usually be visible to everyone anyway.
The problem is that the secret/hidden trap door placeable doesn't allow a transition, like a door. It can be locked, it can be made plot, it can be altered to require a specific key - it can even have an inventory, BUT - it does not act as an area transition - like a regular door in game. It can be used as a fine decoration, but I need a working lockable door.

If you read the comments section on the trapdoor placeable it says that this trapdoor is what is called up by the secret object trigger. So - You never actually place a trapdoor in a module- you place a trapdoor trigger accompanied by a location waypoint (LOC_<triggername>) and that determines where the trapdoor will appear.

When you build your module, a trapdoor in not placed there, which means you can't edit it.The trigger calls the trap door placable.

Another waypoint, a destination waypoint (DST_<triggername>) gives you a destination to transition to.

It looks to me like built-in scripting calls that specific trapdoor object and allows you to jump to the destination waypoint. So, even if you did edit the trapdoor placeable, you'd have to change the trigger scripting to call up the edited door. This doesn't appear possible (hardcoded?) and since this is a player house, you aren't supposed to use specific player made scripts.

Again, I do not need the door hidden AT ALL. I only need a trapdoor - A trapdoor that can act as an area transition AND be lockable, made plot, and require a specific key. I already know to lower the DC of the spot check so low, a blind newb would see it. I'll also use the persistant trigger, so once the door appears it stays there. (there is a trigger that makes the door fade away again also - but i don't want this).

The goal being - if you don't have the key, you don't open the hatch, and you don't get to use the transition. This is exactly like the Slaver's Deep door. I want to know how this was done, and does it require the kind of scripting not allowed in player homes?

Thanks!

PS: I'm seriously hoping I've just overlooked something painfully obvious, and this is easy to do. *crosses fingers*
User avatar
Jeffi0
Apprentice Scholar
Posts: 567
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 12:57 am

Post by Jeffi0 » Fri Oct 08, 2004 2:34 am

You're right, the trapdoors aren't transitions. Instead, a trapdoor uses an OnUse script to jump the using PC to his destination. So just make a trapdoor and lock it and set it to plot in the Properties, then it needs an OnUse script that jumps the PC. One of the Avlis scripts will do that, I'm sure, just need to find out which one. Bioware will also probably have one- just gotta open the OC modules and look through them for a place where something jumps the PC. I'm actually not sure if the trapdoor will check if it's locked before letting a PC use it; but if not, that's easily solved with a GetIsLocked.

And for the hiding trigger, if you do want it, you just have to add a new trapdoor to the pallette so the script can create that trapdoor and not the standard one. But that's probably not allowed in player housing.

Um, if I made this confusing, this is what you need to know

A trapdoor transitions the PC using its OnUse script, not a transition. When it's used, it will jump the PC to a specific point. You're not allowed to make your own script to do this, but I'm sure Avlis has a script that'll do that for you, or tomorrow I'll look through for a standard Bioware script that does it.
User avatar
CPU
Team Member; Retired with Honors
Posts: 5161
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 4:27 pm
Location: NY. USA (-4GMT)

Post by CPU » Fri Oct 08, 2004 4:14 am

Yeah, that makes sense. I think I know of a standard script - maybe. I'll have to look tomorrow. Thanks for the info.
User avatar
CPU
Team Member; Retired with Honors
Posts: 5161
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 4:27 pm
Location: NY. USA (-4GMT)

Post by CPU » Fri Oct 08, 2004 4:34 am

yup -I think this will work.
Jump a PC on use of a placeable
--------------------------------
jump_pc_2wp
jump_pc_2wp_xtra

1) create a placeable with the tag "<unique tag>"
2) make the placeable useable
3) attach "jump_pc_2wp" to the onUsed event
4) create a waypoint with the tag "WP_<unique tag>"
5) if you wish to have it require a key, use "jump_pc_2wp_xtra" insted, and place the keytag in the waypoints name field
Thanks for the guidence Jeffi0
User avatar
Mistcaller
Team Member; Retired with Honors
Posts: 5477
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: Athens, Greece (GMT +2)

Post by Mistcaller » Fri Oct 08, 2004 9:57 am

If you use a secret trapdoor or door placeable with tag XXX, and if you place a waypoint somewhere with tag DST_XXX, then the trapdoor or door will jump you to the waypoint.
No trigger is needed and no script, but the door or trapdoor will be visible.

Edit. Actually x0_o2_use_wdoor is required in the OnUsed of the door, but it is usually there by default.
User avatar
JollyOrc
Elder Sage
Posts: 3984
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2003 11:41 am
Timezone: Europe, CE(S)T
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by JollyOrc » Fri Oct 08, 2004 10:25 am

CPU wrote:yup -I think this will work.
Jump a PC on use of a placeable
--------------------------------
jump_pc_2wp
jump_pc_2wp_xtra

1) create a placeable with the tag "<unique tag>"
2) make the placeable useable
3) attach "jump_pc_2wp" to the onUsed event
4) create a waypoint with the tag "WP_<unique tag>"
5) if you wish to have it require a key, use "jump_pc_2wp_xtra" insted, and place the keytag in the waypoints name field
Thanks for the guidence Jeffi0
this is actually used liberately in The Canvas.

We use it to jump over the counters, for the exit, and a lot of hidden doors. (there are ~10 hidden doors in that place. How many have YOU found ? :) )
User avatar
CPU
Team Member; Retired with Honors
Posts: 5161
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 4:27 pm
Location: NY. USA (-4GMT)

Post by CPU » Fri Oct 08, 2004 7:50 pm

Mistcaller wrote:If you use a secret trapdoor or door placeable with tag XXX, and if you place a waypoint somewhere with tag DST_XXX, then the trapdoor or door will jump you to the waypoint.
No trigger is needed and no script, but the door or trapdoor will be visible.

Edit. Actually x0_o2_use_wdoor is required in the OnUsed of the door, but it is usually there by default.
Dang it! *smacks head on wall* I knew it was going to be something easy like this AND something painfully obvious that I overlooked. I've played with the jump_pc_2wp scripts and this idea now. I think this better suits my needs. Thanks Mist!
Post Reply