Server Totals
Le'Or - (1)
Ferrell - (1)
Wilderness - (1)
Elysia - (0)
M'Chek - (0)
Deglos - (0)
Visimontium - (0)
Underdark - (0)
Mikona - (0)
Total players: 3
Gallery

Links Menu

Multi-server and Server transitions

Moderators: Nighthawk4, Dungeon Masters

Multi-server and Server transitions

PostAuthor: VioletCutie » Sat Dec 04, 2004 8:11 am

I'm not sure how accurate this is, but Avlis seems to run off of one machine with different ports for the different areas open. I'd like to accomplish this on the PW I'm working on, so that I'm not messing with a HUGE module. (Yeah, it's pretty big as is and I need to split it up into smaller mods.) I was wondering if anybody could help me with this?

Also, I like the seamless transitions between the different areas of Avlis when you jump to the servers. I'd like to know how this was done too? Thank you.

VioletCutie
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 7:27 am

PostAuthor: Jonezie » Sat Dec 04, 2004 8:17 am

Dunno anything about the fine details, or how it all fits together, but Avlis is run off more than one machine. There are (or were - I've been away for a little while) a couple of modules that run on the same machine, but there's definately more than one computer running the thing.
User avatar
Jonezie
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 3906
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 7:05 am
Location: Melbourne (GMT +10)

PostAuthor: Themicles » Sat Dec 04, 2004 8:28 am

Avlis runs on more than one machine. Each machine has a mapped drive to the servervault. All of the NWServer instances use that single servervault.
Ideally, it would have one computer running one module. But the reality of it is that some of the computers run more than one module. I currently do not know the structure of which module is on which server, and which server is hosting more than one module.

All of the Avlis machines are in the same physical location on a local network.

Anyway, that's all networking stuff, and a bit seperate from how transitions are handled. And it sounds as if you plan to run each of your modules on a single machine. Keep in mind that each NWServer instance needs to be using a different port, though your original post seems to indicate you already know that. ;)

NWN has a scripting function built in just for sending a player from one server to another. The following section of the NWN Lexicon gives information on the functions used to accomplish this.
http://www.nwnlexicon.com/compiled/cate ... erver.html

I'm sure I missed something here, so let me know if I have.

-Themicles
A wise man does not dwell on his past. He learns from it, he grows from it, and then moves ahead into his future.

And some wise words from a wise man. :P
Orleron wrote:You have to excuse Themi. Tact, diplomacy, and softness are not his best traits, but he does not mean anything by his writing. He's a nice guy. You just get used to it after a while because he doesn't seem to learn. :)
User avatar
Themicles
CoPaP Ambassador
 
Posts: 2677
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 10:45 pm
Location: Wolverine Lake, MI


Return to NWN Scripting

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Gorgon, Sunscream, Yahoo [Bot]