Page 1 of 1
Mac Users
Posted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 2:38 pm
by Sili
I know we have a half dozen or so mac users here. Anyone know of a way to direct connect to an Avlis server the way pc users can with a .bat file? Completely skipping gamespy.
the nwn mac forums returned nothing unless it's called something different which is likely.
Posted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 4:30 pm
by SplankNon
I wouldn't mind knowing that. But I have no clue...
Posted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 5:05 pm
by Manuel the White
It really depends on whether Macsoft made the .app capable of accepting command line arguments the way the .exe does on Windows. Since Mac OS X is a Unix/BSD based OS, you can create a shell script that calls the .app file and pass the connection info to it. Whether or not the .app file was built to accept and act upon those arguments, I don't know.
In windows, your command is:
Code: Select all
C:\NeverwinterNights\NWN\nwmain.exe +connect avlis.blackdagger.net:5121
In Unix, it would be something like (I added the quotes due to spaces but they may not be needed):
Code: Select all
"/Applications/Neverwinter Nights/Neverwinter Nights.app" +connect avlis.blackdagger.net:5121
So, create a file called connect_mikona.sh with Terminal and use contents:
Code: Select all
#!/bin/sh
"/Applications/Neverwinter Nights/Neverwinter Nights.app" +connect avlis.blackdagger.net:5121
Then make sure the file is set to be exectable. From the Terminal command line:
Now I'm just wonering if it can be called from the GUI instead of the Terminal. Maybe if you created the file on your desktop it would be visible and therefore could be double clicked? Course, all of this is moot if it doesn't parse command line arguments.
Posted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 5:12 pm
by Sili
Sweet Manuel, I'll give this a shot next week.
Posted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 10:54 pm
by p0m
Hrm. I hate to burst bubbles here, but the linux version of the client has never supported any command line switches other than -dmc, so it's probably unlikely the Mac client does.
This is probably one thing the community will fix hopefully after 1.68.