Total players: 1
Gallery

Links Menu

Emoting, etc.

General discussion about Avlis

Moderators: Nighthawk4, Dungeon Masters

Emoting, etc.

PostAuthor: modigliani » Wed Jun 16, 2004 4:33 pm

Total newbie here (yes, another one), so please bear with me. I've been on a couple of times and have noticed people doing cool things like, say, speaking trademark phrases, pulling out paper and writing, etc.

How does one do these things? Also, I've seen people emote things that I can't. When I right-click my emote button, I get a bunch of blank actions on the radial menu. All I have is the emote wand, which makes me look like I'm casting a spell before I sit, fall backwards, or whatever. This makes me very *wipes tear*.

In short, I'd like to know how my character can express himself verbally and physically, and if there's a way to shortcut these so I'm not delaying conversation too much. Without these I feel *verklempt*.

Thanks, "by Crom!" and *aw, forget it*
modigliani
Scholar

PostAuthor: Nighthawk4 » Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:13 pm

There are several ways you can *emote*.

1) You can use the Emote Wand. The *stretches arms in front, looking like a complete prat* part is unavoidable at the moment. IC, you should ignore that, whether you do it or you see someone else do so.

2) You can *emote*. You can add words to your Quickslots at the bottom of the screen if you wish. For example, if you Quickslot *waves*, then as you pass other people, you can just click on this and you are not thought to be rude. You can of course, type these individually as well. To Quickslot speech, you Right-Click on the Slot you want to use, select Macro from the menu (at the top), type in the Label (which is what you see on the Quickslot) and then type /tk *waves*, or whatever you want to say. The /tk part is to ensure that you only TALK the words, instead of SHOUTING them. Actually, the SHOUT option is turned off except for DMs, but it is still a good idea to include this.