Server Totals
Deglos - (2)
Le'Or - (0)
Ferrell - (0)
Elysia - (0)
M'Chek - (0)
Mikona - (0)
Wilderness - (0)
Visimontium - (0)
Underdark - (0)
Total players: 2
Gallery
  • Winter Ball 2015
    Album name: DM Events
    Uploaded by: Ronan
    Uploaded: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:38 pm

Links Menu

Could Not Translate Address error

General discussion about Avlis

Moderators: Nighthawk4, Dungeon Masters

Could Not Translate Address error

PostAuthor: Squid » Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:54 pm

Can anyone tell me why I logged on this morning and came back this afternoon and suddenly I am getting this error and its not allowing me to log on any server?

Squid
Prince of Bloated Discourse
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:48 pm
Location: Miami, FLorida

PostAuthor: Kareth » Wed Oct 12, 2005 6:08 pm

I get a problem connecting with my short-cuts but logging in through NWN works fine.

Kareth
Sage
 
Posts: 2633
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 10:18 am
Location: Windsor, UK

thanks

PostAuthor: Squid » Wed Oct 12, 2005 6:14 pm

but which server listing on Gamespy is Wilderness?

Squid
Prince of Bloated Discourse
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:48 pm
Location: Miami, FLorida

PostAuthor: Dralix » Wed Oct 12, 2005 6:15 pm

All the Avlis servers are listed under CoPap-Avlis (or some such). Wilderness is something like CoPaP-Avlis Wilderness

Dralix
Silver Contributor
 
Posts: 4764
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 6:08 pm
Location: FTP

Blah`

PostAuthor: Squid » Wed Oct 12, 2005 6:21 pm

This sux, I found Wilderness, it wasnt listed at first, and I keep lagging out and cant log in, anyone have any other direct connect programs?
I am using the Direct Connect NWNLaunche by Kyle Thorton, anyone else have a new one they can please share?

Squid
Prince of Bloated Discourse
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:48 pm
Location: Miami, FLorida

PostAuthor: Soshus Eblum » Wed Oct 12, 2005 6:43 pm

Once you find and log in once it stays in your History Tab and you can Log in by clicking and entering the Password easy then....

I use this method always because it also tells you the server ping and how many people are on....It is also neat that it refreshes all by itself so if the server crashes you just leave the screen up, serf the net, then when you see the ping drop to normal levels....what ever normal is for you....and you see a few other people on...you log back in!

The best way IMHO
God give you the grace to purge this place
And peace all around may be your fortune

Oh oh children of the land
Love is still the answer, take my hand
The vision fades, a voice I hear
"Listen to the madman!"
Earth = Rock

Min Våte Drøm
User avatar
Soshus Eblum
Sage
 
Posts: 1869
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 6:54 pm
Location: -5 GMT wish Norway +2 GMT

PostAuthor: dannyschil » Wed Oct 12, 2005 8:40 pm

Bah I'm having this same problem right now on all servers.

I tried starting up with the NwNmain but that didn't work.
Neither did rebooting.

Any help?

dannyschil
Scholar
 
Posts: 1163
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 9:16 pm

PostAuthor: Talwin Hawkins » Wed Oct 12, 2005 8:41 pm

i had this problem. login via Nwn. and Cancel the Gamespy error message. The go to your history tabs and log in that way. this worked for me.
User avatar
Talwin Hawkins
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 3981
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 7:56 pm
Location: London - England GMT
Timezone: GMT+1

PostAuthor: dannyschil » Wed Oct 12, 2005 8:49 pm

Wenn I try direct connect, it says the server is timed out.

It says so for Elysia and the Wilderness Is this so?

I know they are up and running but I still get the timed out message?

dannyschil
Scholar
 
Posts: 1163
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 9:16 pm

PostAuthor: dannyschil » Wed Oct 12, 2005 9:11 pm

Talwin Hawkins wrote:i had this problem. login via Nwn. and Cancel the Gamespy error message. The go to your history tabs and log in that way. this worked for me.


This it what it says.
Image

And it doesn't say connection error: could not translate address anymore.

Now it keeps saying the server is timed out.
And it can't connect to the masterserver either.
Also wenn i go the the screenshots thread non of the screenshots are seen?
http://www.avlis.org/viewtopic.php?t=42217&highlight=

Bah Avlis seems to be the only site I can visit at the moment?
What the hell is going on?

dannyschil
Scholar
 
Posts: 1163
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 9:16 pm

PostAuthor: Alexyzar » Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:31 pm

I keep on getting..Cannot Translate Address, tried Elysia, Mikona and Wilderness. I usually log on via NWN and direct Lan..the just type in the port and password...is it up and running? I see there are people on the servers...
User avatar
Alexyzar
Silver Lifer
 
Posts: 972
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 3:46 pm
Location: London UK

PostAuthor: Talwin Hawkins » Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:34 pm

Yes everyone is getting this message but it seems some people can get in Via other methods such as GameSpy etc. If this doesnt work know one as of yet knows what to do.

I personally think its a problem Gamespys end. though not sure.
User avatar
Talwin Hawkins
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 3981
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 7:56 pm
Location: London - England GMT
Timezone: GMT+1

PostAuthor: PlasmaJohn » Wed Oct 12, 2005 11:32 pm

Talwin Hawkins wrote:Yes everyone is getting this message but it seems some people can get in Via other methods such as GameSpy etc. If this doesnt work know one as of yet knows what to do.

I personally think its a problem Gamespys end. though not sure.

There seems to be a DNS issue with some people. Those connecting via direct IP (Gamespy does this for you) can log into a server but not portal.
Calvin: This is so cool!
Hobbes: This is so stupid.
User avatar
PlasmaJohn
Team Member; Retired with Honors; Has a Tom Selleck Stache
 
Posts: 8843
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 10:37 pm
Location: adrift
Timezone: US/Eastern

PostAuthor: korak » Wed Oct 12, 2005 11:45 pm

Yep, I portalled earlier to Ferrell, but it will not let me portal back to the wilderness. It says the server will not accept my character.
I hate when I just miss a call by the last ring (Hello? Hello?), but when I immediately call back, it rings nine times and goes to voice-mail. What did you do after I didn't answer? Drop the phone and run away?
User avatar
korak
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 3597
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 4:41 pm
Location: Missouri, USA (-5 GMT for summer)
Timezone: -5

PostAuthor: drunkenpig » Wed Oct 12, 2005 11:51 pm

Talwin Hawkins wrote:I personally think its a problem Gamespys end. though not sure.


I can't connect thru ASK which uses "avlis.blackdagger.net" Connect no problem thru NWN and gamespy.

Tried ping this and get error message "could not find host" so it's more than likely a DNS issue.

I tried looking up blackdagger.net on dnsstuff.com and it reports errors there w/ the blackdagger.net name.
User avatar
drunkenpig
Apprentice Scholar
 
Posts: 697
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 2:51 am
Location: Clayton, NC (GMT -5 Oct-March, GMT -4 April-Sept)

PostAuthor: Nighthawk4 » Mon Nov 07, 2005 7:08 pm

I get this even if I use the IP address instead of the name. So which address is it unable to translate? :cry:

This happens with all of my shortcuts and when using NWNLauncher. Also, if I try NWN and use the Multiplayer option, no sites are found.

The only way I can connect on my XP box is with Direct Connection.

All of this works fine on my Linux box - unfortunately, that isn't working properly at the moment either - for a different reason. :cry:
Life is never as bad as you think it is, although that doesn't help at the time.

Orleron wrote:I think it's a fun idea if you can idiot-proof it. Problem is God always builds a better idiot. :P


Please visit:
Avlis UK, ACE Forum and SATF Forum

Image
User avatar
Nighthawk4
Eldest DM
Eldest DM
 
Posts: 24041
Images: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:32 pm
Location: The Home of the Bard of Avon
Timezone: GMT
DM Avatar: DruEl


Return to The Avlis Project: General Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]