Server Totals
Elysia - (4)
Wilderness - (2)
Ferrell - (0)
Le'Or - (0)
M'Chek - (0)
Deglos - (0)
Visimontium - (0)
Underdark - (0)
Mikona - (0)
Total players: 6
Gallery
  • Golem Giants
    Album name: DM Events
    Uploaded by: Ronan
    Uploaded: Wed Aug 20, 2014 12:07 am

Links Menu

encounter spawn issues

Moderators: Nighthawk4, Dungeon Masters

encounter spawn issues

PostAuthor: Alphonse » Wed May 25, 2005 7:13 am

Ok guys. I know someone will be able to help with this, so please feel free to make the team member look stupid

Alphonse wrote:I have an area that has 7 encounters.

4 of which just use the CEP dwarven skeletons.

3 of which are a mix of CEP dwarven skeletons and some of my dwarven zombies, which are an edited copy of the standard zombies with some changes made.

The encounters with my zombies in arent firing for some reason. but if i place them manually as statics in the mod they are there.

Am i doing something stupid?
User avatar
Alphonse
Master Sage
 
Posts: 5306
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2004 8:26 am
Location: GMT

PostAuthor: Havoulov » Wed May 25, 2005 8:20 am

I noticed that the same tag is used for both the standard palate zombies and the custom dwarven zombies..... i tried (in a 4 min trial...might have overseen something :oops: ) to change the DZombies to NW_ZOMBIEOO3 but maybe this wasnt unique too.... or this is not at all the problem....
User avatar
Havoulov
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 3429
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 9:22 pm
Location: Just behind you!((Norway)) GMT+2

PostAuthor: Alphonse » Wed May 25, 2005 10:17 am

crap!!

that could well be it

:oops:

time to start them all over again
User avatar
Alphonse
Master Sage
 
Posts: 5306
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2004 8:26 am
Location: GMT

PostAuthor: Jonezie » Wed May 25, 2005 10:21 am

You can just select 'edit copy' on them. This allows you to change the resref, then just delete the original. Much quicker than starting from scratch.
User avatar
Jonezie
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 3906
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 7:05 am
Location: Melbourne (GMT +10)

PostAuthor: Alphonse » Wed May 25, 2005 10:25 am

thats true
User avatar
Alphonse
Master Sage
 
Posts: 5306
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2004 8:26 am
Location: GMT

PostAuthor: Krator » Wed May 25, 2005 10:28 am

Havoulov wrote:I noticed that the same tag is used for both the standard palate zombies and the custom dwarven zombies..... i tried (in a 4 min trial...might have overseen something :oops: ) to change the DZombies to NW_ZOMBIEOO3 but maybe this wasnt unique too.... or this is not at all the problem....


This should not matter at all.

-Your local toolset addict
Playing as: Sir Douglas Hope of Gorethar, old school paladin | Krator Blackfist, gold mage | Warren, half nymph barbarian
User avatar
Krator
Elder Sage
 
Posts: 4947
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 6:44 pm
Location: Amsterdam
Timezone: GMT

PostAuthor: Alphonse » Wed May 25, 2005 10:50 am

Krator wrote:
Havoulov wrote:I noticed that the same tag is used for both the standard palate zombies and the custom dwarven zombies..... i tried (in a 4 min trial...might have overseen something :oops: ) to change the DZombies to NW_ZOMBIEOO3 but maybe this wasnt unique too.... or this is not at all the problem....


This should not matter at all.

-Your local toolset addict


got a solution then?
User avatar
Alphonse
Master Sage
 
Posts: 5306
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2004 8:26 am
Location: GMT

PostAuthor: Havoulov » Wed May 25, 2005 10:53 am

Unfortunatelly today i cant use my computer.... but i wonder if they do appear if you use the zombies in a solitary setting (not combined to the skeletons)....
User avatar
Havoulov
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 3429
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 9:22 pm
Location: Just behind you!((Norway)) GMT+2

PostAuthor: Arandil » Wed May 25, 2005 11:11 am

Is their faction set to hostile?

Arandil
Elder Sage
 
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2002 2:33 pm

PostAuthor: Deider » Wed May 25, 2005 11:28 am

Arandil wrote:Is their faction set to hostile?


Also, is the encounter set to Hostile? If not PCs won't activate it - I've made that mistake before.
User avatar
Deider
Uber Posting Whor3
 
Posts: 7999
Images: 3
Joined: Sun May 11, 2003 12:33 pm
Location: California
Timezone: GMT -8

PostAuthor: Alphonse » Wed May 25, 2005 11:30 am

will check this as soon as i get home. about 4 1/2 hours time
User avatar
Alphonse
Master Sage
 
Posts: 5306
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2004 8:26 am
Location: GMT

PostAuthor: Gaelyn Faerstryd » Wed May 25, 2005 11:35 am

Arandil wrote:Is their faction set to hostile?


The factions are all set to hostile... check.
User avatar
Gaelyn Faerstryd
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 1814
Images: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2003 2:24 am
Location: Quebec, Canada (GMT -5)
Timezone: Eastern

PostAuthor: Krator » Wed May 25, 2005 12:14 pm

The faction of the encounter itself must be hositle, the creature faction doesn't matter.

-K
Playing as: Sir Douglas Hope of Gorethar, old school paladin | Krator Blackfist, gold mage | Warren, half nymph barbarian
User avatar
Krator
Elder Sage
 
Posts: 4947
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 6:44 pm
Location: Amsterdam
Timezone: GMT

PostAuthor: Alphonse » Wed May 25, 2005 4:05 pm

the encounter is hostile.

the tag on the undead is now set to a unique name yet it still doesnt spawn
User avatar
Alphonse
Master Sage
 
Posts: 5306
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2004 8:26 am
Location: GMT

PostAuthor: Alphonse » Wed May 25, 2005 4:12 pm

grrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

I created a new encounter and it works now.
User avatar
Alphonse
Master Sage
 
Posts: 5306
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2004 8:26 am
Location: GMT

PostAuthor: Alphonse » Wed May 25, 2005 10:36 pm

Ok.

What about spawning groups of friendly NPCs?
User avatar
Alphonse
Master Sage
 
Posts: 5306
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2004 8:26 am
Location: GMT

PostAuthor: Jonezie » Wed May 25, 2005 10:55 pm

Alphonse wrote:Ok.

What about spawning groups of friendly NPCs?

The encounter's faction should still be hostile, but the NPCs should be in one of the 'friendly' factions.
User avatar
Jonezie
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 3906
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 7:05 am
Location: Melbourne (GMT +10)

PostAuthor: Havoulov » Thu May 26, 2005 6:49 am

Alphonse wrote:grrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

I created a new encounter and it works now.


Well partially.

I gave it a try and trully agroup of Zom. appears, but now the Skel don't appear. I have a single encounter trigger with two spawn points.... can somebody explain.... is ir a random choise of which of the two spawn points will be used or it should be both monsters appearring in both spawn points? Encounter is set to hostile active and continous..
User avatar
Havoulov
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 3429
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 9:22 pm
Location: Just behind you!((Norway)) GMT+2

PostAuthor: Alustriel » Thu May 26, 2005 7:16 am

Havoulov wrote:I have a single encounter trigger with two spawn points.... can somebody explain.... is ir a random choise of which of the two spawn points will be used or it should be both monsters appearring in both spawn points?


They should spawn randomly in one of the spawnpoints.

Alustriel
Apprentice Scholar
 
Posts: 854
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 12:08 pm
Location: GMT+1/+2 dst


Return to NWN Scripting

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Cartmen, Google [Bot]