Server Totals
Wilderness - (2)
Mikona - (1)
Ferrell - (1)
Le'Or - (0)
Elysia - (0)
M'Chek - (0)
Deglos - (0)
Visimontium - (0)
Underdark - (0)
Total players: 4
Gallery

Links Menu

Unable to use /smite?

Forum for posing direct questions to the Avlis Team. Purpose is to facilitate Team/Player communication.

Moderators: Nighthawk4, Dungeon Masters

Unable to use /smite?

PostAuthor: dashdot » Sat May 20, 2017 11:56 am

Hiya!

So I just noticed in the last few days my /smite doesn't work.

I get a message "You are unable to use the holy warrior smite evil ability".

I'm not aware that this is something IC, so I'm wondering if I'm doing something wrong or if it's a bug? All I need to/should be able to do, is type "/smite" without the quotes, right?

Thanks for any help on this one :)
User avatar
dashdot
Prince of Bloated Discourse
 
Posts: 209
Images: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 1:53 am

Re: Unable to use /smite?

PostAuthor: Seka » Sun May 21, 2017 12:49 pm

Have you tried the standard radial action for Smite [Whatever]? From the wiki, it sounds like the /smite chat command was meant to be a backup if the usual way of invoking smite failed:
Smite evil for some holy warriors is bugged such that they are unable to use via the radial emote. As a work around, the ability may be called by typing '/smite' in the chat window.

Also, what class is your character? I notice that in the script for the /smite command, Paladin is not included in the classes it checks, for whatever reason. It may have been determined that Paladins were 'bug-free' in this respect, but I'm just guessing here. Hopefully someone with more knowledge on the subject can chime in.
User avatar
Seka
CCC
CCC
 
Posts: 1303
Images: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 12:37 am
Location: Brooklyn
Timezone: EDT (GMT -4)

Re: Unable to use /smite?

PostAuthor: dashdot » Sun May 21, 2017 1:13 pm

Hiya! I've not used the standard radial no, I've always had /smite quickslotted - but someone mentioned the radial version to me yesterday, so I'll try that instead when I have opportunity to next!

And yes, it's a Paladin class I'm playing. :)

For now I just need to know if I need to have /smite or if I should use the radial command option in my quickslots instead... but I'll do some playing around with it at my side to see what works. Thanks Seka!
User avatar
dashdot
Prince of Bloated Discourse
 
Posts: 209
Images: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 1:53 am

Re: Unable to use /smite?

PostAuthor: Gorgon » Sun May 21, 2017 5:48 pm

As far as I can tell, the ACP /smite command is only for Avengers, Equalizers and Champions, to fix a 1.69 Smite Evil bug with it using the wrong spell id. If you don't have any levels in those classes, it should always give that message. Are you saying it worked before for your Paladin? Any chance you were using the radial version as the quick-slot instead?

You should be using the normal smite command (quick-slotting that should be fine too, though I don't play a Pally...), but if you have any problems with it, do post a bug report on the bug tracker (if /smite works for Paladins, that probably should be bug reported as well). As Seka mentioned, the /smite command not working for Paladins isn't a bug, but by design (from what the script and submission info are telling me anyway - Analgesia or Nob could confirm more, since they worked on the ACP command).
"God not only plays dice, he throws them in the corner where you can't see them."
-- Stephen William Hawking (b. 1942) --


Sprucing up ye olde NWN | Modifying nwn.ini and nwnplayer.ini | ~Rare Items Wanted~ | Stealth Modifiers
User avatar
Gorgon
QA's 2nd|CCC Mobster
QA's 2nd|CCC Mobster
 
Posts: 5939
Images: 38
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 10:14 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Timezone: PST -8

Re: Unable to use /smite?

PostAuthor: dashdot » Sun May 21, 2017 11:43 pm

Thanks! That solves it, it works with the radial. I'm not sure why I had the /smite command quickslotted, so it must have been a mistake on my side. All sorted!
User avatar
dashdot
Prince of Bloated Discourse
 
Posts: 209
Images: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 1:53 am


Return to The Avlis Project: Ask the Team

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot]