Server Totals
Mikona - (1)
Elysia - (1)
Le'Or - (0)
Ferrell - (0)
M'Chek - (0)
Deglos - (0)
Wilderness - (0)
Visimontium - (0)
Underdark - (0)
Total players: 2
Gallery

Links Menu

Avlis on the Mac

Moderators: Nighthawk4, Dungeon Masters

Avlis on the Mac

PostAuthor: Caltore » Sat Jun 02, 2012 5:15 am

Hey guys!

I need some help. I have abandoned the PC for the Mac. I finally found my way back to Avlis when I downloaded a full version of NWN and used my codes. Worked perfect for a while... then as soon as I was in a space whith any other player my cam moved in to it's own little private screen of black nothingness. I could see my character moving around on the wee map.... but I could not get back unless I restarted the whole thing. Now when I updated to Lion the whole NWN program is simply not allowed. Is there any solution to this? Does any one have a smart link to some place where I can download the whole NWN and use my original codes to get back in Avlis? I was just comming back and looking forward to it so much.... and now it's gone!! Please HELP!
=,(
User avatar
Caltore
Lord of Blithering Idiots
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:09 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Avlis on the Mac

PostAuthor: Plethora » Sat Jun 02, 2012 5:24 am

Caltore!

I would agree with you, but then, we would both be wrong..
User avatar
Plethora
Head DM
Head DM
 
Posts: 24043
Images: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: GMT +11 (DST in effect)
Timezone: +11 (DST)
DM Avatar: Verossa

Re: Avlis on the Mac

PostAuthor: Nighthawk4 » Sat Jun 02, 2012 10:31 am

I use the Windows version of NWN on a Mac.

You can use Crossover or Wineskin.

Try this thread for discussion of these methods.

I have never tried the Mac version of NWN, but it seems some people have done so and that works as well - assuming you can still find those.

If you already have the Windows version, I would suggest either Crossover or Wineskin. I have both running on my iMac, which is running Lion. Both are fine.

I also tried Parallels and Fusion (with a Windows VM), plus Fusion with an Ubuntu VM. None of these were really successful. They did run, but so slowly that the game was not really playable. I did get the Toolset to work in both though, although only for a very tiny module.

Good luck :up:
Life is never as bad as you think it is, although that doesn't help at the time.

Orleron wrote:I think it's a fun idea if you can idiot-proof it. Problem is God always builds a better idiot. :P


Please visit:
Avlis UK, ACE Forum and SATF Forum

Image
User avatar
Nighthawk4
Eldest DM
Eldest DM
 
Posts: 23992
Images: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:32 pm
Location: The Home of the Bard of Avon
Timezone: GMT
DM Avatar: DruEl

Re: Avlis on the Mac

PostAuthor: galen_macbyrne » Sat Jun 02, 2012 4:24 pm

I also got a Windows Virtual machine running with Virtual PC (Windows XP) on my new iMac with Lion OS. PC disks were in Best Buy's discount rack, I got them rather than do the GoG DL. I couldn't figure out how to do X-over or Wine, they'll probably work better if you can do it, as NH4 says.

As NH4 says, it initially ran so slowly it was pretty unplayable, even in single-player. But setting Video card compatibility prefs to an earlier version of the OS made it tolerable and playable, though there's still problems, at least I can log in and play (Thanks Zandel for advice - I set it to Windows 2000 as the latest - haven't tried to go earlier). Haven't tried a large DM'ed event with this yet.

I tried to use toolset, since I didn't have access to that before with my old Mac disks, but keep seeing some sort of Bioware violation notice when I try to use the wizard to make a mod. How did you get the toolset running, NH4?
Galen
PC's:
Garthond Foehammer - Most Stereotyped PC, 2011 Irreverence Awards
Mirkduil Ellerentar - Guild Leader, ACE
Arglebargle Dinklehoffer - Red Order of the Flame
Slide Toefungus

galen_macbyrne
QA Tester
QA Tester
 
Posts: 1363
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 11:44 pm
Location: Hudson valley, NY
Timezone: US - Eastern

Re: Avlis on the Mac

PostAuthor: tindertwiggy » Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:24 pm

I run it in regular wine on Lion. Googled til I found a tutorial on how to set up lion.

Crossover makes it pretty easy if you don't want to set up wine yourself, but it costs money.
Happiness is baked with one part bat guano, one part sulfur.

tindertwiggy
Legacy DM
Legacy DM
 
Posts: 6682
Images: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 12:20 am
Location: Nippon

Re: Avlis on the Mac

PostAuthor: maxinion » Fri Jun 08, 2012 10:50 am

I use the thread NH4 linked, and a Wineskin bottle. Super easy! Though occassionally I do get graphics glitches like you mention, it works very well most of the time.
User avatar
maxinion
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 2779
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2003 7:44 pm
Location: Bay Area, CA
DM Avatar: Andrinor

Re: Avlis on the Mac

PostAuthor: tindertwiggy » Sat Jun 09, 2012 3:08 am

http://www.codeweavers.com/

Try the trial here. It worked for me. I didn't want to pay for the full version, so I installed wine instead. I don't really remember which tutorial I used.
Happiness is baked with one part bat guano, one part sulfur.

tindertwiggy
Legacy DM
Legacy DM
 
Posts: 6682
Images: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 12:20 am
Location: Nippon


Return to NWN General Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], galen_macbyrne