Server Totals
Wilderness - (4)
Elysia - (1)
Ferrell - (0)
Le'Or - (0)
M'Chek - (0)
Deglos - (0)
Visimontium - (0)
Underdark - (0)
Mikona - (0)
Total players: 5
Gallery
  • Elysia updates
    Album name: DM Events
    Uploaded by: Ronan
    Uploaded: Fri Jun 05, 2015 3:13 am

Links Menu

Handy master server bypass

Moderators: Nighthawk4, Dungeon Masters

Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: Ashan » Sun Oct 02, 2011 2:39 pm

Heres a simply way to avoid the master server delay that someone showed me!!!



Firstly, just to be safe; Ensure NWN's is closed down before you make this change. You should find like I have that after you make this change, you don't hang on the connecting stage and is instead instantaneous.

Okay the first step is to find your hosts file. (So you know where it is)

Step 1. Navigate from your root directory like C drive:
windows > system32 > drivers > etc > hosts (no extension)

If you're using Vista or Windows 7:
Open notepad up alone as an administrator. (Right click notepad and "open as administrator")
And then go File > Open: And navigate again through Step 1. to the 'hosts' file.

Everyone else (XP): Simply open hosts with notepad after you've located it (No need for running as administrator).


What you're faced with should look something like this:

CODE: SELECT ALL
# Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
# 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
# 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
# 127.0.0.1 localhost
# ::1 localhost



It's as simple as adding this line at the bottom of it:

CODE: SELECT ALL
0.0.0.0 nwmaster.bioware.com



Then click save without changing the name or extension in any way.


Yay no more waiting for the server to connect to a non exstiant server!
Player of,
Gurkz
User avatar
Ashan
Apprentice Scholar
 
Posts: 585
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 12:58 am
Location: Ireland
Timezone: gmt

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: Cameron Klym » Sun Oct 02, 2011 2:43 pm

Thats way KOOL man!Thanks!

Cameron Klym
Roleplayer of the Year 2015
 
Posts: 1549
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2003 3:34 am
Location: Alberta, Canada
Timezone: -0700 GMT

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: Grunt » Sun Oct 02, 2011 4:11 pm

"CODE: SELECT ALL" isn't needed in this case, just the line with:
0.0.0.0 nwmaster.bioware.com

You'll still get the "Could not contact Master Server" message, but it'll be instantaneous. Works well enough!
FletcherWiki

*Stepping out of a portal*
Nawen Amakiir: there he is.. *smirks* someone had to make an entrance
Fletcher Millstone: MILLSTONE! *arms held high*
Lilliana Be'letane: You're the worst, Fletcher.
User avatar
Grunt
CCC
CCC
 
Posts: 9422
Images: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 12:37 am
Location: Boston, MA
Timezone: I AM A TIME LORD

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: gutemensch » Sun Oct 02, 2011 4:15 pm

In Windows 7 x64 I had to do a bit more than just 'open as administrator'. Navigate to location with your favorite file browser and bring up the props of Host. I had to unchecked read only and under user permission give myself full control for a moment (even through I am Admin).
Nawen Wiki | Loash Leheven Wiki | Paradise Boutique and Emporium Wiki | FRAwen Wiki

2016 winner of The Micah Ormane Prize for Narcissism
User avatar
gutemensch
Minor DM
Minor DM
 
Posts: 7175
Images: 28
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 3:25 am
Location: Republic of Texas
Timezone: -6
DM Avatar: Mishlekh

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: Gorgon » Sun Oct 02, 2011 4:32 pm

Resetting it to "read only" after you are done saving is a good idea btw.
"God not only plays dice, he throws them in the corner where you can't see them."
-- Stephen William Hawking (b. 1942) --


Sprucing up ye olde NWN | Modifying nwn.ini and nwnplayer.ini | ~Rare Items Wanted~ | Stealth Modifiers
User avatar
Gorgon
QA's 2nd|CCC Mobster
QA's 2nd|CCC Mobster
 
Posts: 5988
Images: 38
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 10:14 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Timezone: PST -8

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: gutemensch » Sun Oct 02, 2011 5:20 pm

I did forget to include I reset it read only and revoked full control.
Nawen Wiki | Loash Leheven Wiki | Paradise Boutique and Emporium Wiki | FRAwen Wiki

2016 winner of The Micah Ormane Prize for Narcissism
User avatar
gutemensch
Minor DM
Minor DM
 
Posts: 7175
Images: 28
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 3:25 am
Location: Republic of Texas
Timezone: -6
DM Avatar: Mishlekh

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: Talwin Hawkins » Sun Oct 02, 2011 5:27 pm

Like.
User avatar
Talwin Hawkins
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 3981
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 7:56 pm
Location: London - England GMT
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: Eal » Sun Oct 02, 2011 5:55 pm

works like a charm
___________
Jack 'Blackstrap' Carter Jr.
___________
User avatar
Eal
Knight of Useless Drivel
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 6:19 pm

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: Quinkish » Sun Oct 02, 2011 6:22 pm

I can't seem to get this working for NWN. I used this trick for bypassing the NWN2 server back in August, now I tried to add NWN to the host file and it doesn't affect it. Fortunately, NWN2 is still working right ... it's a neat trick.
User avatar
Quinkish
Silver Lifer
 
Posts: 1741
Images: 0
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 11:49 am
Location: Bristle - awlrite me babbers? GMT

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: krackq » Sun Oct 02, 2011 7:32 pm

This thread = win!

The delay is annoying, especially when crashing out during an event or middle of a big fight!
[Celedor Dedwend: [Talk] *turns around and shakes ass before giving it a sharp slap*
Celedor Dedwend: [Party] ((this is my finest RP beyond a shadow of a doubt.. my zenith if you will))
Fydonya Ivythorn: [Party] that's sad celedor..
User avatar
krackq
Jugglebutt Jones
 
Posts: 6775
Images: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 7:30 pm
Location: Maryland, USA
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: Blizzow » Sun Oct 02, 2011 8:38 pm

It's magic!
User avatar
Blizzow
Scholar of Fools
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 6:32 am
Location: Cascadia
Timezone: -8 GMT (PST)

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: Gumble Tinkertumble » Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:09 pm

That's brilliant!
User avatar
Gumble Tinkertumble
Sage
 
Posts: 1707
Images: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 1:57 pm
Location: UK
Timezone: GMT

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: Nighthawk4 » Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:25 pm

Didn't work on my Mac unfortunately :cry:
Life is never as bad as you think it is, although that doesn't help at the time.

Orleron wrote:I think it's a fun idea if you can idiot-proof it. Problem is God always builds a better idiot. :P


Please visit:
Avlis UK, ACE Forum and SATF Forum

Image
User avatar
Nighthawk4
Eldest DM
Eldest DM
 
Posts: 23986
Images: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:32 pm
Location: The Home of the Bard of Avon
Timezone: GMT
DM Avatar: DruEl

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: Grunt » Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:34 pm

Nighthawk4 wrote:Didn't work on my Mac unfortunately :cry:


http://support.apple.com/kb/TA27291 ...might help? Not sure.
FletcherWiki

*Stepping out of a portal*
Nawen Amakiir: there he is.. *smirks* someone had to make an entrance
Fletcher Millstone: MILLSTONE! *arms held high*
Lilliana Be'letane: You're the worst, Fletcher.
User avatar
Grunt
CCC
CCC
 
Posts: 9422
Images: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 12:37 am
Location: Boston, MA
Timezone: I AM A TIME LORD

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: badjabadjabadja » Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:47 am

Does what it says on the tin :)

(For Win XP anyway!)

:rate10:
Micah Ormane wrote:If you want potions, stand just outside the front door of the AKN, and emote *is disguised* about ever 2 minutes or so. Then, when somebody steps outside, cast wail of the banshee. Loot. Rinse. Repeat. Now that's my kind of crafting. :twisted:

badjabadjabadja
QA Resource
 
Posts: 2144
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 3:38 pm
Location: South Wales UK
Timezone: GMT (+1)

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: maxinion » Sat Oct 08, 2011 1:09 am

Nighthawk4 wrote:Didn't work on my Mac unfortunately :cry:


open terminal

sudo vim /etc/hosts

put in the lines that they said, following the formal in that file

save, quit, done
User avatar
maxinion
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 2779
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2003 7:44 pm
Location: Bay Area, CA
DM Avatar: Andrinor

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: S_N » Sat Oct 08, 2011 5:55 am

Neat quirk for windows, buf for linux (and I suspect mac too) 0.0.0.0 still a valid address that resolves to localhost. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Default_route

however:
ping 0.0.0.n
where n is any number 1,2,3, ... 255 does result in 'connect: invalid argument' error message. And indeed, applying the trick described in the first post but with, for instance, 0.0.0.1 instead of 0.0.0.0 will make it work on linux as well. I find it likely that Mac would work the same way.

------ Option 2 -------

If it still doesn't work, then another, more proper imho, way to solve this is to configure iptables (or your firewall) to block outgoing connections to nwmaster.bioware.com. For linux with iptables this would be done like:

echo 127.0.42.199 nwmaster.bioware.com >> /etc/hosts
iptables -I OUTPUT -p all --dst nwmaster.bioware.com -j REJECT --reject-with icmp-host-prohibited


The binding to a dummy local ip would remove the possibility that DNS records change the ip-address of nwmaster.bioware.com in the future.

Test it out, and then make the iptables rule permanent.
iptables-store can write the current rules to configuration file format, and your current configuration might reside in /etc/sysconfig/
User avatar
S_N
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: Scandinavia
Timezone: UTC+1
DM Avatar: Ingoren

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: badjabadjabadja » Wed Oct 26, 2011 1:26 pm

Mhmm.. mine stopped working a few days ago, and upon checking the hosts file realised the entry had disappeared!

Set it to read only now :D
Micah Ormane wrote:If you want potions, stand just outside the front door of the AKN, and emote *is disguised* about ever 2 minutes or so. Then, when somebody steps outside, cast wail of the banshee. Loot. Rinse. Repeat. Now that's my kind of crafting. :twisted:

badjabadjabadja
QA Resource
 
Posts: 2144
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 3:38 pm
Location: South Wales UK
Timezone: GMT (+1)

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: Li'll Divvil » Sat Jan 07, 2012 5:12 pm

Little additional tip, make sure your virus scanner is set to allow changes to your "hosts" file

Mine blocked it and would only allow a save as txt file which doesn't work.

You can change the VS back after you make the change.
User avatar
Li'll Divvil
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 6493
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 6:57 pm
Location: Dutchie in Germany
Timezone: GMT +1
DM Avatar: Tobin

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: Talwin Hawkins » Sat Jan 07, 2012 7:04 pm

This only ever worked for a little while then reverted back. I tried to set it to read only like Badja said but no luck.
User avatar
Talwin Hawkins
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 3981
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 7:56 pm
Location: London - England GMT
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: Ashan » Sat Jan 07, 2012 7:24 pm

Really? its working for me since i did it first off
Player of,
Gurkz
User avatar
Ashan
Apprentice Scholar
 
Posts: 585
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 12:58 am
Location: Ireland
Timezone: gmt

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: S_N » Sun Jan 08, 2012 6:03 pm

Ashan: Does it also work for you if you put an invalid ip?
If so, it would be better to use one of those in your instead of 0.0.0.0 in the example above.

0.0.0.0. is special and goes to wherever the system (or network driver) decides the default route is (and therefore results may vary). For me it was the deferred to localhost, which caused it to time out exactly the same as bioware's server would.

Using any other ip address of the pattern 0.x.x.x should fail the requirement that A-class networks cannot have a zero address. (and hence probably not wait to time out)
User avatar
S_N
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: Scandinavia
Timezone: UTC+1
DM Avatar: Ingoren

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: gutemensch » Sun Jan 08, 2012 8:10 pm

Might try setting it your router address. I've done that to a few things cause I hate programs that want to call home every time I start them up.
Nawen Wiki | Loash Leheven Wiki | Paradise Boutique and Emporium Wiki | FRAwen Wiki

2016 winner of The Micah Ormane Prize for Narcissism
User avatar
gutemensch
Minor DM
Minor DM
 
Posts: 7175
Images: 28
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 3:25 am
Location: Republic of Texas
Timezone: -6
DM Avatar: Mishlekh

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: badjabadjabadja » Mon Jan 09, 2012 1:25 am

My anti-virus (Comodo) detected the changes as a threat and deleted it (even when set to read only). I've since instructed it to ignore it, and is working fine now.
Micah Ormane wrote:If you want potions, stand just outside the front door of the AKN, and emote *is disguised* about ever 2 minutes or so. Then, when somebody steps outside, cast wail of the banshee. Loot. Rinse. Repeat. Now that's my kind of crafting. :twisted:

badjabadjabadja
QA Resource
 
Posts: 2144
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 3:38 pm
Location: South Wales UK
Timezone: GMT (+1)

Re: Handy master server bypass

PostAuthor: Talwin Hawkins » Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:12 am

badjabadjabadja wrote:My anti-virus (Comodo) detected the changes as a threat and deleted it (even when set to read only). I've since instructed it to ignore it, and is working fine now.


That will be my problem as well. I will try that later.
User avatar
Talwin Hawkins
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 3981
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 7:56 pm
Location: London - England GMT
Timezone: GMT+1


Return to NWN General Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot]