Server Totals
Wilderness - (5)
Le'Or - (1)
Deglos - (1)
Elysia - (1)
Ferrell - (0)
M'Chek - (0)
Mikona - (0)
Visimontium - (0)
Underdark - (0)
Total players: 8
Gallery
  • Mikona - Lord Marcus Deth and the Order of the Dragon
    Album name: DM Events
    Uploaded by: Hamlet
    Uploaded: Mon Aug 25, 2014 12:39 am

Links Menu

Get 'log' bugged on my NWN install?

Moderators: Nighthawk4, Dungeon Masters

Get 'log' bugged on my NWN install?

PostAuthor: diddeecoy » Sat Nov 27, 2010 11:26 pm

I was just asked to collect a log, so I logged out and went to the logs folder. All I found was two empty files ...

nwclienterror1 27/11/10 17:40 Text Document 0KB
nwclientlog1 27/11/10 17:40 Text Document 0KB

I need to do something first to enable it? Or is it bugged?

Thanks for any help, cheers!
User avatar
diddeecoy
RPotY 2010
 
Posts: 2132
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 5:43 pm
Location: Wales
Timezone: GMT

Re: Get 'log' bugged on my NWN install?

PostAuthor: badjabadjabadja » Sat Nov 27, 2010 11:29 pm

In your nwnplayer.ini file you shoud have this line:
ClientEntireChatWindowLogging=1

mine has it in the section titled:
[Game Options]
Micah Ormane wrote:If you want potions, stand just outside the front door of the AKN, and emote *is disguised* about ever 2 minutes or so. Then, when somebody steps outside, cast wail of the banshee. Loot. Rinse. Repeat. Now that's my kind of crafting. :twisted:

badjabadjabadja
QA Resource
 
Posts: 2144
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 3:38 pm
Location: South Wales UK
Timezone: GMT (+1)

Re: Get 'log' bugged on my NWN install?

PostAuthor: diddeecoy » Sun Nov 28, 2010 12:20 am

Can't find ini files either. I'm expecting to find it where i find the haks and overrides, music, logs etc. but its not there? :oops:
User avatar
diddeecoy
RPotY 2010
 
Posts: 2132
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 5:43 pm
Location: Wales
Timezone: GMT

Re: Get 'log' bugged on my NWN install?

PostAuthor: Godric » Sun Nov 28, 2010 12:31 am

They should be in by default:

C: > NeverwinterNights > NWN

The files will be loose, and not in a folder under that directory, and would be a .ini file that can be opened with Notepad. If you have your window set to view by list, you can click file extension column and find them quicker. You do have them, because if you didn't, you wouldn't be able to run NWN.

Then when you locate them, make sure they have the line Badja said. If they don't then your log feature wasn't turned on, adn you don't have the logs.

In future, make sure the line is set like badja is saying to, and use an external program to capture the log. I found one that works on win7 and 64 bit PCs. GLR5000, will need to give it admin rights, and it wont start when windows does.

http://nwvault.ign.com/View.php?view=NW ... ail&id=184

Godric
Prince of Bloated Discourse
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 5:54 am

Re: Get 'log' bugged on my NWN install?

PostAuthor: diddeecoy » Sun Nov 28, 2010 12:44 am

Got it! Thanks, off to test it now
User avatar
diddeecoy
RPotY 2010
 
Posts: 2132
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 5:43 pm
Location: Wales
Timezone: GMT

Re: Get 'log' bugged on my NWN install?

PostAuthor: Hamlet » Sun Nov 28, 2010 12:47 am

Just remember you will have to save the log file to a different file every time you log out (it gets overwritten). ;-)
#AVLISPLAYERHOUSING
#WHATSHERNAMEAGAIN

Hamlet, please don't kill me
-Plethora

User avatar
Hamlet
QA's 1st|CCC|PH Fairy|RPoTY 2007
QA's 1st|CCC|PH Fairy|RPoTY 2007
 
Posts: 13073
Images: 22
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 8:52 am
Location: The Void

Re: Get 'log' bugged on my NWN install?

PostAuthor: Brayon » Sun Nov 28, 2010 12:48 am

Hamlet wrote:Just remember you will have to save the log file to a different file every time you log out (it gets overwritten). ;-)


True, but the external program I linked, will automatically do that. :-)

Pleth is the Best!
AJ is Arcadia's Brother



Dear whoever is reading this.
You're beautiful, and someone out there is crazy about you.
So smile.
Life is too short to be unhappy.
User avatar
Brayon
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 4041
Images: 12
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 3:57 am
Location: Florida USA
Timezone: GMT -5

Re: Get 'log' bugged on my NWN install?

PostAuthor: diddeecoy » Sun Nov 28, 2010 12:57 am

Tada!
User avatar
diddeecoy
RPotY 2010
 
Posts: 2132
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 5:43 pm
Location: Wales
Timezone: GMT

Re: Get 'log' bugged on my NWN install?

PostAuthor: Hamlet » Sun Nov 28, 2010 12:58 am

Brayon wrote:True, but the external program I linked, will automatically do that. :-)

Awesome! (I'm still being my overprecautionary self!) :good:
#AVLISPLAYERHOUSING
#WHATSHERNAMEAGAIN

Hamlet, please don't kill me
-Plethora

User avatar
Hamlet
QA's 1st|CCC|PH Fairy|RPoTY 2007
QA's 1st|CCC|PH Fairy|RPoTY 2007
 
Posts: 13073
Images: 22
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 8:52 am
Location: The Void

Re: Get 'log' bugged on my NWN install?

PostAuthor: diddeecoy » Sun Nov 28, 2010 1:26 am

I'll be taking screenies next 8-)
User avatar
diddeecoy
RPotY 2010
 
Posts: 2132
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 5:43 pm
Location: Wales
Timezone: GMT


Return to NWN General Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: slow feet