Server Totals
Wilderness - (2)
Le'Or - (0)
Ferrell - (0)
Elysia - (0)
M'Chek - (0)
Deglos - (0)
Visimontium - (0)
Underdark - (0)
Mikona - (0)
Total players: 2
Gallery

Links Menu

Convert DDS to TGA?

Moderators: Nighthawk4, Dungeon Masters

Convert DDS to TGA?

PostAuthor: Korennya » Tue Oct 05, 2010 9:29 pm

Anyone out there willing to convert a DDS image file over to a Tga file for me? I"ve tried the convertors and the PSD plugin. Neither seem to want to run on my computer, and I can't toy aroudn with my idea until this file gets converted.
User avatar
Korennya
CCC
CCC
 
Posts: 1312
Images: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 12:41 pm
Location: US GMT -5(-4)
Timezone: EST

Re: Convert DDS to TGA?

PostAuthor: P-ro » Tue Oct 05, 2010 9:33 pm

I seem to remember both nVidia and ATi had their own free tools that did that. I'll see if I can find something.
"In the surprisingly awesome non-Batman Nolan movie, The Prestige, David Bowie invents a teleportation machine for Wolverine because he thinks Batman killed his wife."

—Cezary Jan Strusiewicz, Cracked

P-ro
Knight of Useless Drivel
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 1:58 am

Re: Convert DDS to TGA?

PostAuthor: P-ro » Tue Oct 05, 2010 9:40 pm

Doh! I misread what you were asking for, sorry. I don't think I can help in this case.
"In the surprisingly awesome non-Batman Nolan movie, The Prestige, David Bowie invents a teleportation machine for Wolverine because he thinks Batman killed his wife."

—Cezary Jan Strusiewicz, Cracked

P-ro
Knight of Useless Drivel
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 1:58 am

Re: Convert DDS to TGA?

PostAuthor: Calzier » Tue Oct 05, 2010 10:20 pm

I'm happy to give it a go - but I can't guarantee the converters will work any better on my machine than yours!
User avatar
Calzier
CCC
CCC
 
Posts: 1939
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 10:39 am
Location: UK
Timezone: GMT/BST

Re: Convert DDS to TGA?

PostAuthor: Korennya » Tue Oct 05, 2010 10:35 pm

User avatar
Korennya
CCC
CCC
 
Posts: 1312
Images: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 12:41 pm
Location: US GMT -5(-4)
Timezone: EST

Re: Convert DDS to TGA?

PostAuthor: korak » Tue Oct 05, 2010 10:55 pm

From what I can tell, the header on your file is corrupted or something. I cannot open it with a couple of different programs that should be able to open it up.

Scott
I hate when I just miss a call by the last ring (Hello? Hello?), but when I immediately call back, it rings nine times and goes to voice-mail. What did you do after I didn't answer? Drop the phone and run away?
User avatar
korak
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 3597
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 4:41 pm
Location: Missouri, USA (-5 GMT for summer)
Timezone: -5

Re: Convert DDS to TGA?

PostAuthor: Calzier » Tue Oct 05, 2010 10:56 pm

korak wrote:From what I can tell, the header on your file is corrupted or something. I cannot open it with a couple of different programs that should be able to open it up.

Scott


Exactly the same for me. Either nothing opens, or I get an invalid header error message.
User avatar
Calzier
CCC
CCC
 
Posts: 1939
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 10:39 am
Location: UK
Timezone: GMT/BST

Re: Convert DDS to TGA?

PostAuthor: Korennya » Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:24 pm

That file is extracted directly from the copap texture hak. I tired extracting from there both with nwhak and nwviewer. Same results. Guess i'll try downloading copaptexture again. THe problem is though, that i've tried to extract multi files all.. flagxx with the same results. What's wierd is I can see the particular flag perfectly fine in the game, so I would think the hak itself isn't corrupted. As how to prevent the file from becoming corrupted during extraction?
User avatar
Korennya
CCC
CCC
 
Posts: 1312
Images: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 12:41 pm
Location: US GMT -5(-4)
Timezone: EST

Re: Convert DDS to TGA?

PostAuthor: Gorgon » Tue Oct 05, 2010 11:53 pm

nwnexplorer exports as tga from that file in the hak just fine, but it doesn't like the photoshop or other dds utilities. If all you need is the tga, then that will do it.
"God not only plays dice, he throws them in the corner where you can't see them."
-- Stephen William Hawking (b. 1942) --


Sprucing up ye olde NWN | Modifying nwn.ini and nwnplayer.ini | ~Rare Items Wanted~ | Stealth Modifiers
User avatar
Gorgon
QA's 2nd|CCC Mobster
QA's 2nd|CCC Mobster
 
Posts: 5866
Images: 38
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 10:14 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Timezone: PDT -7

Re: Convert DDS to TGA?

PostAuthor: PlasmaJohn » Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:32 am

DDS resources found in NWN hak files have stripped out the bulk of the standard header since that information is the same. As Gorgon pointed out, your best option is to use nwnexplorer since it's aware of NWN's algorithm.
Calvin: This is so cool!
Hobbes: This is so stupid.
User avatar
PlasmaJohn
Team Member; Retired with Honors; Has a Tom Selleck Stache
 
Posts: 8822
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 10:37 pm
Location: New Eden
Timezone: US/Eastern

Re: Convert DDS to TGA?

PostAuthor: MadK@ » Wed Oct 06, 2010 6:05 am

___________
CoEMF CoAWP
Image _ Image
User avatar
MadK@
Legacy DM
Legacy DM
 
Posts: 5213
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 12:45 pm
Location: Perth Western Australia
Timezone: +8 GMT
DM Avatar: Xenon

Re: Convert DDS to TGA?

PostAuthor: Korennya » Wed Oct 06, 2010 10:48 am

Alrighty, I"ll try nwexplorer then for future projects. Thanks Kat for taking care of this one for me :D
User avatar
Korennya
CCC
CCC
 
Posts: 1312
Images: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 12:41 pm
Location: US GMT -5(-4)
Timezone: EST

Re: Convert DDS to TGA?

PostAuthor: Calzier » Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:54 am

All that for a hat? Thought at least it might have been a pair of shoes...
:flucht: *runs and hides*
User avatar
Calzier
CCC
CCC
 
Posts: 1939
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 10:39 am
Location: UK
Timezone: GMT/BST

Re: Convert DDS to TGA?

PostAuthor: Korennya » Wed Oct 06, 2010 6:19 pm

hat? what? not for a hat.. for a completely different project regarding something other than hats. I decline to say what, though it's not that hard to figure out, just incase it doesnt happen :P
User avatar
Korennya
CCC
CCC
 
Posts: 1312
Images: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 12:41 pm
Location: US GMT -5(-4)
Timezone: EST


Return to NWN General Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Moredo