Page 1 of 1

SetName() implemented for DMs

PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 11:01 am
Author: JollyOrc
before I reinvent the wheel...

...surely anyone has implemented a SetName wand or something like that already, right? Applying the SetName() is one line, but retrieving the new name from somewhere is not :)

PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 11:15 am
Author: Nighthawk4
Isn't that what the DM Rename Wand does? :?

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 1:46 am
Author: PlasmaJohn
Nighthawk4 wrote:Isn't that what the DM Rename Wand does? :?

JO is not an Avlis DM, so he doesn't know about it :D (and yes)

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 10:16 am
Author: Aradan Kir
Is this a 3rd party addition? If so, any chance of a link to where it can be obtained from?

Thanks

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 2:05 pm
Author: IceThorn
Kinarr created ours (I think), so he's the best person to answer most of your questions. It works great, but there are some issues to be aware of (from Bioware, not Kinarr :) ).

1) Any chat will do the renaming. Talk, Party, DM, etc. This can at times be hilarious or frustrating. Like having a raccoon's floaty be, "Hey, what's wrong with that raccoon?"

2) Saturday I discovered that entire stacks can be renamed in one shot, and when you add a non-re-named item to the stack it also gets renamed. This made me very happy as DM since I was afraid that I was going to have to split every single item from the stack to rename them. However, it's also an exploitable since if a DM drops a renamed gem, potion, etc. then the player can run around renaming every instance of that item (the same name).

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 3:00 pm
Author: Melakin Skywieder
Nighthawk4 wrote:Isn't that what the DM Rename Wand does? :?


Where is that? I looked for it yesterday and couldn't find it

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 3:03 pm
Author: Moredo
Items -> Custom -> Special -> Special 1 -> DM Renamer Tool

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 3:07 pm
Author: IceThorn
Aradan Kir wrote:Is this a 3rd party addition? If so, any chance of a link to where it can be obtained from?

Thanks


The function is, of course, Bioware but the wand implementation is 3rd party.

Moredo wrote:Items -> Custom -> Special -> Special 1 -> DM Renamer Tool


Doesn't work on Visi :(

PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 3:10 pm
Author: Significant Owl
That's because it hasn't been imported there yet. ._.