Page 1 of 1

Set Ability and Set Race Possible?

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:30 pm
Author: IceThorn
I've been unable to find functions for setting a PC's ability to an absolute value or to set the PC's race. I've got a loop to calculate the ability difference and subtract to get to the desired number, but the decrease ability function has to be a positive int < 10 => needing a loop. Anyone know a smoother way?

Also, if I want to set a PC's race to say Undead, is there a way to do it?

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:37 pm
Author: girlysprite
as for races: I think the onlyway for a PC to change race is to polymorph. Youcan change the subrace of the PC without any problem, but I think you cant change the race.

What you can do is change their appearance without the polymorph effect.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:39 pm
Author: PlasmaJohn
Since you're asking about SetAppearance elsewhere I'll assume you're not talking about that :D. You mean adjust stats and stuff? You're looking at AutoBic then to do a bic modification. That can be risky if it's not a newly created character.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 2:49 pm
Author: Preston
When you say setting a PC's ability to an absolute value, do you mean as a base ability score, or an adjusted ability score (i.e. when the score is in red or green)?

The only way to change PC race is with a .bic edit, via autobic, as PJ said, or manually editing it.

Altering a PC's race or base stats might make it so they can't log in with the ECL checker running, I think.

I hope this isn't for what I think it might be for...

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 2:52 pm
Author: Alphonse
Preston wrote:Altering a PC's race or base stats might make it so they can't log in with the ECL checker running, I think.


This problem happened the other week when an overenthusiastic DM used setSTR on PCs

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 3:02 pm
Author: IceThorn
girlysprite wrote:as for races: I think the onlyway for a PC to change race is to polymorph. Youcan change the subrace of the PC without any problem, but I think you cant change the race.

What you can do is change their appearance without the polymorph effect.


Yea, I'm avoiding Polymorph since it won't allow casting & changes abilities.

Preston wrote:When you say setting a PC's ability to an absolute value, do you mean as a base ability score, or an adjusted ability score (i.e. when the score is in red or green)?

The only way to change PC race is with a .bic edit, via autobic, as PJ said, or manually editing it.

Altering a PC's race or base stats might make it so they can't log in with the ECL checker running, I think.

I hope this isn't for what I think it might be for...


No, I want to set CON to 10 so no bonuses (if CON > 10)

Code: Select all
while(iPCAbilCON > 10)  //make PC's CON = 10 to nullify any CON hp bonuses.  Way to just Set Ability = 10?
{
    int CONAdj = iPCAbilCON - 10;
    if(CONAdj > 9)  CONAdj = 9;  //EffectAbilityDecrease() must be a positive number less than 10
    effect eCONDrain = EffectAbilityDecrease(ABILITY_CONSTITUTION, 1);
    ApplyEffectToObject(DURATION_TYPE_TEMPORARY, eCONDrain, oCaster, TurnsToSeconds(iDuration));  //hope multiple drops don't explode
}


For the race, I want to set a PC's race to undead so that all spells that affect undead (like Sunburst, etc.) affect the PC as if they were undead. I guess that'll have to be done on the spell side.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 4:41 pm
Author: Final Shinryuu
Only way to change the race is to manually edit the bic, or with a program such as Autobic, LETO, ect. LETO is a two second job to do it if you have servervault access.
Your best bet with setting the CON to 10 is to use drain like that. Don't actually change the base value, or the Avlis ELC checker will boot them as an invalid character.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 5:51 pm
Author: Nighthawk4
Alphonse wrote:
Preston wrote:Altering a PC's race or base stats might make it so they can't log in with the ECL checker running, I think.


This problem happened the other week when an overenthusiastic DM used setSTR on PCs


:shock:


It was an accident :oops:

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 1:21 pm
Author: IceThorn
Using the while loop to make CON=10 really freaked it out - even on SP. A one time drain works ok, but the max drain is 9. Guess PCs with >19 CON luck out and just get CON-9 instead of CON=10.