Page 1 of 1

CopyObject and areas

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 10:34 am
Author: Deider
Can the CopyObject function be used on areas?

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 10:50 am
Author: JollyOrc
as far as I know: No.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 6:37 pm
Author: terror2001
You really would not want that either as all the objects in the area would get duplicated and have the same Tags as the original area, making it bad especially for area transitions.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 6:53 pm
Author: Deider
terror2001 wrote:You really would not want that either as all the objects in the area would get duplicated and have the same Tags as the original area, making it bad especially for area transitions.


That's easy enough to get around. But the point is moot - so much for my magic gnome inn with only one room area, or Leomund's Hut or the Rod of Splendor NWN-style. Looks like it's time for Plan B :D

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 10:14 am
Author: Lafferty
The short answer is: No!

The long answer is:

Areas are loaded and created in memory only on module start, so new areas cannot be created without restarting a module.
Another possibility though might be TileMagic, which basically could allow a module to contain one or two default areas (probably just plain flat tiles) and then change the appearance via TileMagic. The drawback, afaik, is though that wlks (walkable meshes) of tiles don't get updated by using TileMagic - only appearance.

EDIT: I knew i read something about that somewhere: http://www.nwnx.org/phpBB2/viewtopic.ph ... =copy+area