Page 1 of 1

Deleting scripts takes ages?

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:37 am
Author: Jonezie
Is it just me, or does everyone else have to sit through a 5 minute pause after a script has been deleted?
The mod is 30 Mb, but this seems a bit...excessive. I'm running a 2.8Ghz P4 with 512Mb RAM on WinXP Pro.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:45 am
Author: Tristan_Durst
It takes about 10 mins with me and I am rumming a PIII 863 with 1 gig of ram. Forget about updateing props of an item that is across the entire mod, that takes all night long.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:48 am
Author: Jonezie
*curses*

I was hoping that there was something I'd missed....oh well. Only 10 more to go.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 12:35 pm
Author: Alustriel
use the export function, select the script and right click to delete it, goes much faster this way, same goes for all items that you want to remove from the mod.
or when a module is opened in the toolset all resources are listed in the module\temp0 folder. When you delete it there and save the module it should be gone as well.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 3:06 pm
Author: Sindol
Scripts can be deleted in the blink of an eye really. When you click delete it asks two questions iirc:
1. Really delete this script? YES
2. Delete all applied instances of this script as well? NO

Exit script. Takes a few seconds at most for me. The important bit is answering "no" on the second question. The downside of this is that you'll have to manually remove the script from all places where you applied it. This usually takes less time than letting the toolset do it though. Asssuming that you know exactly where the script was applied, this works very well.

For the other resources, there's no such option: removing an NPC will always cause the toolset to check all areas and encounters for the use of this NPC... takes forever. Alustriel already posted some nice tricks for getting rid of those though.

When deleting from the temp0 folder while you have the mod open: Make a backup of your mod before you do this though, it's been known to corrupt the module on some rare occasions.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 3:30 pm
Author: Nob
Open the module with NWHak...and delete the nss and ncs files directly.

Works pretty well too. Though I see Alu's posted other tips, heh.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 4:08 pm
Author: Gorgon
Got any other useful tips? This one little thread probably could have saved me hours, and I'm a novice at the toolset.