Page 1 of 1

CEP and the NWN Toolset

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 11:38 am
Author: Grizpin
Greetings,

I was wondering if the CEP placeables were included in the toolset once the CEP is installed. I did not see any objects or tilesets that seemed to be part of the CEP. Maybe I'm looking in the wrong place? Could someone point me in the right direction? :)

Regards,

Grizpin

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 11:44 am
Author: Psyco
you need to add the haks to the module to get cep content to show up. And the order is important.

Hks are udded under the custom content tab of the module properties window. and the correct order is.

CoPaP Patch
CoPaPHak4_2.hak
cep1patch.hak
cep2da.hak
cepanatomy.hak
cepbaseitem.hak
cepcreature.hak
cepplace.hak
cepportrait.hak
ceptexture.hak
UniversalHak_4_2.hak

and the CoPaP TLK 3.3 in the tlk box in the same tab

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 11:46 am
Author: Jonezie
Also, the CEP stuff is in the custom palette rather than the standard one.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 12:47 pm
Author: Grizpin
Thank you for your replies :D

I think I am familiar with the custom tab in the module properties window. How exactly do I import the hak files under that custom tab? I'm still new to the toolset.

Thanks again,

Grizpin

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 1:07 pm
Author: Enverex
Open the toolset, select "Edit" from the toolbar at the top of the screen and click "Module Properties" on there there should be a tab labeled "Custom Content".

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 3:41 pm
Author: Grizpin
Enverex wrote:Open the toolset, select "Edit" from the toolbar at the top of the screen and click "Module Properties" on there there should be a tab labeled "Custom Content".


Thanks Enverex :)

I got that part... I want to know how to import the hak files under the custom content tab. I'm at work and can't look at the toolset right now. I figured it wouldn't hurt to get a head start so I had the information I needed when I got home.

Regards,

Grizpin

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 3:56 pm
Author: Enverex
Grizpin wrote:
Enverex wrote:Open the toolset, select "Edit" from the toolbar at the top of the screen and click "Module Properties" on there there should be a tab labeled "Custom Content".


Thanks Enverex :)

I got that part... I want to know how to import the hak files under the custom content tab. I'm at work and can't look at the toolset right now. I figured it wouldn't hurt to get a head start so I had the information I needed when I got home.

Regards,

Grizpin


No, thats all you need to do. There will be a pulldown menu with them all there, and you just need to select each one then click Add. You dont need to search for them or anything as they are already installed for the game itself.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 5:03 pm
Author: Grizpin
Great, thanks! :D

Cheers

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 6:45 pm
Author: Vichan Lyonsen
You might have to refresh the pallatte if for some reason the cep items dont appear at first....it happens to me a lot...

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 10:47 pm
Author: Demonlady
Related to this - how do you make a copy of a Custom CEP creature under the Customs tab so you can edit it to something you want to have ?

For example, a CEP creature with less abilities.

Demonlady

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 10:56 pm
Author: Talwin Hawkins
place an original, change the poperties of the creature to what you want it to be THEN ADD TO PALLETE.

I say that in capitals as i have done that and when you try to Dm it it doesnt work :P

once thats done its saved where ever you put it.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:02 pm
Author: Aloro
Demonlady wrote:Related to this - how do you make a copy of a Custom CEP creature under the Customs tab so you can edit it to something you want to have ?

For example, a CEP creature with less abilities.

Demonlady


Just edit a copy instead of editing the original. Placing one then saving to the palette is unnecessarily complicated.

- Aloro

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:06 pm
Author: Talwin Hawkins
*pokes tongue out at Aloro*

smarty pants.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:12 pm
Author: Aloro
Talwin Hawkins wrote:smarty pants.


That's better than the alternatives, I always say. :P

- Aloro

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:38 pm
Author: szabot
Out of curiousity, why does the order for adding the haks matter?

Also, how do you "refresh" the palette?

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:48 pm
Author: Nevyn
The order of the Hak's is very important.

The Haks listed at the top have priority over the ones below.

If a file is in more than one Hak the file that resides in the highest priority Hak is used.

This way Hak updates can be just a single small Hak updating components from multiple previous haks.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:56 pm
Author: Jonezie
szabot wrote:Also, how do you "refresh" the palette?

Go to the custom palette, right click on the appropriate category, and selcet "refresh palette" from the menu that comes up. I don't know if this refreshes the whole palette, or just the category that you select it for.

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 9:10 am
Author: Demonlady
Aloro wrote:
Demonlady wrote:Related to this - how do you make a copy of a Custom CEP creature under the Customs tab so you can edit it to something you want to have ?

For example, a CEP creature with less abilities.

Demonlady


Just edit a copy instead of editing the original. Placing one then saving to the palette is unnecessarily complicated.

- Aloro


Uhm, I'd love to but it keep yelling at me that you can not save it as it's from a CEP blueprint.

Then it tells me what I *should* do which about of course me as a newbie on this has no clue what is intended.

Care to tell me how I make a copy from a CEP creature and can place it under Custom1 for example ?

Demonlady

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 12:16 pm
Author: Jonezie
Demonlady wrote:
Aloro wrote:
Demonlady wrote:Related to this - how do you make a copy of a Custom CEP creature under the Customs tab so you can edit it to something you want to have ?

For example, a CEP creature with less abilities.

Demonlady


Just edit a copy instead of editing the original. Placing one then saving to the palette is unnecessarily complicated.

- Aloro


Uhm, I'd love to but it keep yelling at me that you can not save it as it's from a CEP blueprint.

Then it tells me what I *should* do which about of course me as a newbie on this has no clue what is intended.

Care to tell me how I make a copy from a CEP creature and can place it under Custom1 for example ?

Demonlady

You should just be able to right click on the blueprint you want to copy in the palette and selcet "Edit Copy" from the menu that will appear. It will create a copy for you, which you can then modify to your heart's content. When you click 'OK', the new version (with any changes you made) will be automatically saved to the custom palette. To put it in a diffent catergory, change this on the "Basic" tab of its properties. If this is not working for you, I don't know what the problem would be, as I have never had any problems editing CEP creatures.

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 12:20 pm
Author: Krator
Or just create from instance and set the appearance to the desired creature and make the hide/abilities yourself :P

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 9:22 pm
Author: Tali Esin
Psyco wrote:you need to add the haks to the module to get cep content to show up. And the order is important.

Hks are udded under the custom content tab of the module properties window. and the correct order is.

CoPaP Patch
CoPaPHak4_2.hak
cep1patch.hak
cep2da.hak
cepanatomy.hak
cepbaseitem.hak
cepcreature.hak
cepplace.hak
cepportrait.hak
ceptexture.hak
UniversalHak_4_2.hak

and the CoPaP TLK 3.3 in the tlk box in the same tab


Could we get the order for the latest patches and haks? I'm assuming they will be:


CoPaP Patch
CoPaPHak4_3.hak
cep1patch150.hak
cep1patch.hak
cep2da.hak
cepanatomy.hak
cepbaseitem.hak
cepcreature.hak
cepplace.hak
cepportrait.hak
ceptexture.hak
UniversalHak_4_3.hak


Where does the Avlis_main1_0.hak go?
TLK file is copaptlk_3_4, correct?

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:09 pm
Author: Psyco
Tali Esin wrote:
Psyco wrote:you need to add the haks to the module to get cep content to show up. And the order is important.

Hks are udded under the custom content tab of the module properties window. and the correct order is.

CoPaP Patch
CoPaPHak4_2.hak
cep1patch.hak
cep2da.hak
cepanatomy.hak
cepbaseitem.hak
cepcreature.hak
cepplace.hak
cepportrait.hak
ceptexture.hak
UniversalHak_4_2.hak

and the CoPaP TLK 3.3 in the tlk box in the same tab


Could we get the order for the latest patches and haks? I'm assuming they will be:


CoPaP Patch
CoPaPHak4_3.hak
cep1patch150.hak
cep1patch.hak
cep2da.hak
cepanatomy.hak
cepbaseitem.hak
cepcreature.hak
cepplace.hak
cepportrait.hak
ceptexture.hak
UniversalHak_4_3.hak


Where does the Avlis_main1_0.hak go?
TLK file is copaptlk_3_4, correct?


That looks right from memory, just

1) get rid of the copap patch, its no longer needed.
2) put the avlis_main at the top
3) tlk is now 3.4

PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 7:13 am
Author: Sindol
Two posts down from this one, you'll find this:
http://www.avlis.org/viewtopic.php?t=41845

Search function is your very best friend.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 4:20 pm
Author: Tali Esin
Believe it or not, I did use the Search function.
That's how I found this thread.

It all depends on the parameters... *wink*