Server Totals
M'Chek - (4)
Deglos - (2)
Mikona - (2)
Wilderness - (1)
Elysia - (0)
Ferrell - (0)
Le'Or - (0)
Underdark - (0)
Visimontium - (0)
Total players: 9
Gallery

Links Menu

Toolset problem.

Moderators: Nighthawk4, Dungeon Masters

Toolset problem.

PostAuthor: Lorathon » Sat Mar 13, 2004 2:41 am

I have been using the toolset and now some of the descriptions for button, tilesets, groups, terrain, features, and just about anything you can imagine are gone. I will open up a editor and the buttons have no description. Or just trying to start a new area part of the tilesets have no description. Plus if I insert a NPC from a custom pallette the NPC never makes into the game. I have installed the program on two seperate compueters and have had the same problem. Has anybody else seen this? Is there a way to fix it? Atari says of course to just uninstall and re-install. But I find that a bit drastic since on the second computer I installed it only worked fine for about 4 hours.

Looking for any suggestions.

1st Computer
Windows XP Home
AMD 2800+ Anthlon XP
160GB HD
512MB
NVIDIA GeForce4 MX


2nd Computer (Work Comp)
Windows XP Pro
Pent 4 Spd???
Much the same as above

Lorathon
Squire of Babble
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Southern California

PostAuthor: Melakin Skywieder » Sat Mar 13, 2004 4:19 am

If it's what I think then I see it too....something like

+Misc.
-
-
-
-Chair
-Chest

Etc

The first few are blank?

That's what I see I wasnt sure what was up with that. For that matter I'm not sure if I see the new things that are in HOTU, I have to go look some things up.
If money it the root of all evil, I want to be a bad man!

Melakin Skywieder
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 6175
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 8:25 pm
Location: Over the hill

PostAuthor: Lorathon » Sat Mar 13, 2004 4:30 am

Well thats what it looks like and ill tell you something. you can look everywhere and not find anything :-)

But i have found the solution.

I ran the setup for HotU again and then updated to 1.62 then down grade to 1.61 and now its working again. Still dont know what happened but this has worked so far.

Good Luck :-)

Tell me if you find out why it happened.

Lorathon
Squire of Babble
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Southern California

PostAuthor: Melakin Skywieder » Sat Mar 13, 2004 4:34 am

I just noticed that I dont have any that belongs to HOTU like the underdark etc. And a lot of blank areas in many things like creatures etc. I did have to downgrade to 1.61

I also noticed that I have a number of creatures named Bad Strref.

Please dont tell me that I have to reinstall :evil:

This wouldnt have anything to do with Avlis dialog.tlk would it?

I'm going to go try that next, then maybe upgrade back to 1.62 but that will be later since I want to play tonight.

Glad to hear you got your problem solved.
If money it the root of all evil, I want to be a bad man!

Melakin Skywieder
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 6175
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 8:25 pm
Location: Over the hill

PostAuthor: Jordicus » Sat Mar 13, 2004 5:37 am

don't use the old avlis dialog.tlk file. there is a new CoPaP tlk 2.0 file that you need to put in your tlk folder under your HoTU installation
You see things and you say, "Why?" But I dream things that never were and say, "Why not?" George Bernard Shaw
User avatar
Jordicus
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 8048
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2003 3:46 pm
Location: Whitehall, PA (GMT -4)

PostAuthor: Lorathon » Sat Mar 13, 2004 5:38 am

I didnt reinstall the whole thing only the HotU disc. And then updraded and down graded. It only took about 10 minutes. I didnt want to reinstall the whole thing either :-)

Hope this helps

Lorathon
Squire of Babble
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Southern California

PostAuthor: Lorathon » Sat Mar 13, 2004 6:46 am

Where can you get the new tlk file?

Lorathon
Squire of Babble
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Southern California

PostAuthor: Melakin Skywieder » Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:30 pm

Jordicus wrote:don't use the old avlis dialog.tlk file. there is a new CoPaP tlk 2.0 file that you need to put in your tlk folder under your HoTU installation


Well that seems to help. I now see things like snow patches, desert stuff etc which comes with HOTU. However if I do a creature wizard I am still seeing alot of Bad Strref (though things like Red Dragon Disciple are there now).

Not sure where those Bad Strref are coming from? Any clues?

Thanks
If money it the root of all evil, I want to be a bad man!

Melakin Skywieder
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 6175
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 8:25 pm
Location: Over the hill

PostAuthor: WrathOG777 » Wed Mar 24, 2004 4:48 pm

I am haveing a similar issue with the toolset. When I am making items what cast spells, skills, many names are missing. Cannot really see what I am makeing.

-name
-
-
-name
^like that^

Also in game all HotU skills, feats, spells are blank. No name, description, nothing, but the icon still appears and I can use them.

And in regaurds to the dialog fix. How does one go about finding out if they have the right dialog.tlk file? Is there somewhere I can get the correct one? I think I have the copap one in the tlk folder.
User avatar
WrathOG777
Master Sage
 
Posts: 5326
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Abyss (GMT 2200-0500)

PostAuthor: markschouten » Wed Mar 24, 2004 4:57 pm

ftp://ftp.infogrames.net/patches/neverw ... Update.exe

This patch file should contain the standard bioware TLK file.
Personality Disorder:
Peregryne Twostep: ..And with hindering a Sword in the executuion of his duties
Riagrin Squampleleaf: A sword? Where?
Peregryne Twostep: ~ I ~ am a Sword..

Image
User avatar
markschouten
Scholar of Fools
 
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 9:23 pm
Location: Netherlands (GMT+2)

PostAuthor: Sindol » Wed Mar 24, 2004 5:02 pm

Bad Strrefs and empty lines are almost always caused by discrepancies between the haks and the tlk file (that's what a tlk file does, it matches the haks entries to the right spot in the game).

Make sure, when working with the Avlis haks in the toolset that you have:
1. The 2 core haks CoPaPHak (v3.1) and UniversalHak (v3.0) attached to your mod.
2. The right tlk file assigned to your mod (CoPaPTlk_2_0.tlk).
3. Have not overwritten the original bioware dialog.tlk in your NWN folder (this was necessary before version 1.61 of NWN, but NOT anymore).

This works just fine for me. :)
So much fun,
yet so little time to enjoy it.
- Sindol
User avatar
Sindol
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 6487
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 4:23 pm
Location: Nijmegen - Netherlands (GMT+1)

PostAuthor: WrathOG777 » Thu Mar 25, 2004 3:43 pm

yay! I am back in production! thanks.
User avatar
WrathOG777
Master Sage
 
Posts: 5326
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Abyss (GMT 2200-0500)

PostAuthor: Melakin Skywieder » Thu Mar 25, 2004 3:51 pm

Make sure, when working with the Avlis haks in the toolset that you have:
1. The 2 core haks CoPaPHak (v3.1) and UniversalHak (v3.0) attached to your mod.
Got them
2. The right tlk file assigned to your mod (CoPaPTlk_2_0.tlk).
Yup that what fixed the blanks

3. Have not overwritten the original bioware dialog.tlk in your NWN folder (this was necessary before version 1.61 of NWN, but NOT anymore).
Verified by running single game version

Everything is working fine I just see those bad strref. I also still see them on my character (ghost elf pre ELC).
I do get a strange onhit effect when I make a creature from the wizard. Drove me nuts since I couldnt see a reason for it. I think I found a work around though.
If money it the root of all evil, I want to be a bad man!

Melakin Skywieder
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 6175
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 8:25 pm
Location: Over the hill

PostAuthor: Sindol » Thu Mar 25, 2004 4:27 pm

If you still have bad strrefs after following those steps, could you describe where and when they show up? It might be some smaller bugs that slipped by in the creation of the hak and tlk files. Maybe they can be fixed in the next version.
So much fun,
yet so little time to enjoy it.
- Sindol
User avatar
Sindol
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 6487
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 4:23 pm
Location: Nijmegen - Netherlands (GMT+1)


Return to NWN Scripting

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Korennya, slow feet