Server Totals
Elysia - (2)
Wilderness - (2)
Le'Or - (1)
Mikona - (1)
Visimontium - (1)
Ferrell - (0)
M'Chek - (0)
Deglos - (0)
Underdark - (0)
Total players: 7
Gallery
  • Winter Ball 2015
    Album name: DM Events
    Uploaded by: Ronan
    Uploaded: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:38 pm

Links Menu

Tower Rooftop

Moderators: Nighthawk4, Dungeon Masters

Tower Rooftop

PostAuthor: astoroth » Wed May 07, 2003 11:18 am

I have an idea.

To simulate being on top of a wizards rooftop, I notced that in the City Exterior Tileset, there is a WIzards Tower, with a flat usable roof.

What I am doing, is creating a MOCK city around me, with the Wizards tower in the middle, and I wanted to place a trapdoor on the roof of the tileset tower.

This works, but when I place an AT on the roof, it drops to the floor.

Anyone tried something like this before? Is there a way to do it without the AT, and on using the trapdoor, it teleports you back inside?
Astoroth Dyacon
Sage of The Magus Tower University of Mikona

"Knowledge is the foundation of a righteous society. For it is knowledge that allows us to think, to learn, and to grow together."
User avatar
astoroth
Lord of Blithering Idiots
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 12:35 pm

PostAuthor: Starslayer_D » Wed May 07, 2003 11:42 am

I tried this with my temple, as the building has a terrace-like flat ion the house-side. No way :(
Transistions are only paintable on the "declared floor level" of the area.. and only streets, stairs and ramps count.... not any house-features.

Starslayer_D
Master Sage
 
Posts: 5182
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 7:35 pm
Location: Germany (+1 GMT)

PostAuthor: Lafferty » Wed May 07, 2003 3:56 pm

i doubt the top of the tower is walkable (in model terms i mean)
It would require a modified tile for the tower with a proper walkmesh and height info...
Tool for crafters Do you want some human to your salt? nomanisanisland.monolar.de
User avatar
Lafferty
Scholar
 
Posts: 1130
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 5:08 pm
Location: look at my hands... they are HUGE. And they cant touch themselves...

PostAuthor: Actually » Wed May 07, 2003 4:45 pm

Can't get to the toolset right now, but I can think of a great way to test it.

Ever play Witch's Wake? You should be able to kludge an external "rope ladder" up the side of the tower by setting up two placeables of some logical type and using a JumpTo method associated with their OnUse event.

This won't work across areas if you're having the problem you describe with painting AT's, but it should right away make it obvious whether or not that area is "walkable", and with a little finesse and a lot of curse words you can set a placeable wherever you want regardless of it's relative location to the x,y plane.

Bye Now,
Jerry Cornelius - Code Monkey

Actually
Sage
 
Posts: 1823
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2002 10:11 pm
Location: Red Zone: Cuba

PostAuthor: astoroth » Thu May 08, 2003 3:03 am

It is walkable. I placed an NPC there in the toolset, and playtested it. But I see the inherant problem at hand.

I tried creating a raised surface, but it looks crappy, as the height and dimensions are different. Ah well it was a nice thought anyhow.
Astoroth Dyacon
Sage of The Magus Tower University of Mikona

"Knowledge is the foundation of a righteous society. For it is knowledge that allows us to think, to learn, and to grow together."
User avatar
astoroth
Lord of Blithering Idiots
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 12:35 pm


Return to NWN Scripting

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Jazz, refminion, SirSatisfaction, Tel