Server Totals
Deglos - (2)
Elysia - (2)
Mikona - (1)
M'Chek - (1)
Wilderness - (1)
Underdark - (0)
Ferrell - (0)
Le'Or - (0)
Visimontium - (0)
Total players: 7
Gallery

Links Menu

SoU and building for Avlis

Moderators: Nighthawk4, Dungeon Masters

SoU and building for Avlis

PostAuthor: JollyOrc » Thu Jul 03, 2003 11:03 am

http://nwn.bioware.com/forums/viewtopic ... set+switch

This detalis how to build modules with an SoU installation that are still useable by non-SoU ones:

Kudos to Themicles for digging this up.

I haven't tried this yet though.

Greetings:

For those of you who have the NWN: SoU expansion installed, and want to prevent your current non-SoU module from being flagged as "requiring SoU", here are two batch files you can create to activate/deactivate your SoU installation.


NWToolsetOrig.bat

@echo off
copy /y xp1.key _xp1.key
del xp1.key
start nwtoolset.exe


NWToolsetSoU.bat

@echo off
copy /y _xp1.key xp1.key
start nwtoolset.exe


We were just made aware of an issue. All the resouces you will need to make non-SOU work properly are in the patch.bif/patch.key files from the Live 1.30 Update, which will be available today. To make this work in the expected manner, you will need to get your hands on this patch.bif and patch.key.

One way, is to Update your original Neverwinter install to 1.30, then install SoU.


Please note, that the change to the 'xp1.key' file will affect the Neverwinter Nights game as well.

Please note, that the "start" command won't work for all OS's. If the batch file fails, just remove the 'start' command from the batch files.

If you just want the status of the SoU install to be flipped between detected and not-detected by these two batch files, then please remove the lines for nwtoolset.exe

We will see if we can come up with a more elegant solution in a future Update.
User avatar
JollyOrc
QA Resource
 
Posts: 3900
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2003 11:41 am
Location: Germany
Timezone: GMT+1

PostAuthor: Starslayer_D » Fri Jul 04, 2003 6:23 pm

yahooo!

Starslayer_D
Master Sage
 
Posts: 5182
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 7:35 pm
Location: Germany (+1 GMT)

PostAuthor: Vicky » Fri Jul 04, 2003 11:13 pm

Thanks for this JollyOrc. Now I have three computers (I'm turning into a computer shop here) at home I'm going to test this out this weekend. Didn't want to do anything until now in case it all goes pear shaped and I have to redo everything I'm working on...

Vicky
Thank goodness Vicky finally gave up that powergamer character, Tehenen. If I saw her one more time at the Ice Caves, I was gonna throw up! Jesus. To go from level 1 to 5 in 8 months is just ridiculous. I bet she has like 4200 gold too. Unbelievable how fast she was gaining levels and wealth. ;)
User avatar
Vicky
Apprentice Scholar
 
Posts: 722
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 10:28 pm
Location: Australia - GMT+11

PostAuthor: Jordicus » Sat Jul 05, 2003 12:16 am

please post your findings as to whether this works or not... I have purposely not installed SoU yet because I did not want to cause problems with projects I am working on in the toolset...

:D
User avatar
Jordicus
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 8048
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2003 3:46 pm
Location: Whitehall, PA (GMT -4)

PostAuthor: Melakin Skywieder » Sat Jul 05, 2003 2:58 am

Someone brought up a point to me that seems to fit in this thread. I understand at some point in time Avlis will be a SoU server. The question that some will surely have is do they need to upgrade in order to play or is it backwards compatible?
If money it the root of all evil, I want to be a bad man!

Melakin Skywieder
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 6175
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 8:25 pm
Location: Over the hill

PostAuthor: Jordicus » Sat Jul 05, 2003 3:08 am

From what I understand, once the server ungrades to SoU, you will need to have SoU installed yourself to play on Avlis
User avatar
Jordicus
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 8048
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2003 3:46 pm
Location: Whitehall, PA (GMT -4)

PostAuthor: Vicky » Sat Jul 05, 2003 9:03 am

I've had a go with this and, for me, the batch files work a clunky treat.

Tested by installing SoU on 1 PC and making 2 modules, one using the NWToolsetOrig and one using the NWToolsetSoU.

I then tried to play both modules on my non-SoU PC.

NWToolsetOrig only gives you the original area tiles/placeables etc. and areas created in here and worked on in here are then playable on all version of NWN 1.30 and above. You don't need SoU installed to play them.

NWToolsetSoU gives all new content and areas created in here and worked on in here are only playable if you have SoU installed. It tells you that you need a later version of NWN if you try and play these modules without SoU installed.

So, aside from major clunkiness, it does work. Of course there may well be problems I haven't found yet... I haven't tried opening a module that's been created using the NWToolsetOrig batch file with the NWToolsetSoU batch file and seeing if it works or gets updated etc. but then, why would you want to?

Vicky
Thank goodness Vicky finally gave up that powergamer character, Tehenen. If I saw her one more time at the Ice Caves, I was gonna throw up! Jesus. To go from level 1 to 5 in 8 months is just ridiculous. I bet she has like 4200 gold too. Unbelievable how fast she was gaining levels and wealth. ;)
User avatar
Vicky
Apprentice Scholar
 
Posts: 722
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 10:28 pm
Location: Australia - GMT+11


Return to NWN General Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Angel of Death, Bing [Bot], refminion