Server Totals
Deglos - (0)
Le'Or - (0)
Ferrell - (0)
Elysia - (0)
M'Chek - (0)
Mikona - (0)
Wilderness - (0)
Visimontium - (0)
Underdark - (0)
Total players: 0
Gallery

Links Menu

NWN running sloooooooooooooooooooooow

Moderators: Nighthawk4, Dungeon Masters

NWN running sloooooooooooooooooooooow

PostAuthor: Deider » Fri Apr 14, 2017 3:53 pm

My friend and I both recently bought NWN on GOG. We both installed it on laptops. I runs fine for me, but on his laptop it is unplayably slow. It takes a long time to load areas, and when they do load there is tremendous lag. This is in the offline campaign, so network connectivity is not an issue.

We've tried a few things already, but none have resolved the issue:
- setting Max Memory Usage=32 in nwnplayer.ini
- setting Client CPU Affinity=-2 or -1 in nwnplayer.ini
- turning down the game's graphics setting in Video Options
- running the game in Windows XP SP3 mode instead of Windows 10

His laptop specs are as follows.

Make & model: Fujitsu FMVA42JR
OS: Windows 10 Home 10.0.14393
Processor: Pentium CPU B980 @ 2.40GHz, 2 cores

I think the laptop is around 6-8 years old. He upgraded the OS from Windows 7 to 10 last year, but none of the hardware has been upgraded. According to Windows, all of his drivers are up to date.

If anyone has any advice on things to try, it'd be greatly appreciated. :D
I like gnomes.
User avatar
Deider
Uber Posting Whor3
 
Posts: 7995
Images: 3
Joined: Sun May 11, 2003 12:33 pm
Location: California
Timezone: GMT -8

Re: NWN running sloooooooooooooooooooooow

PostAuthor: tizmo » Fri Apr 14, 2017 3:57 pm

Need to run the game as Administrative user.

Also, when the game starts, ALT+TAB to minimize the game and start up the "Resource Monitor". Look at the resource utilization to see if there are any clues.

tizmo
CCC
CCC
 
Posts: 1358
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 2:53 pm
Location: Washington, DC
Timezone: GMT-4

Re: NWN running sloooooooooooooooooooooow

PostAuthor: Gorgon » Fri Apr 14, 2017 8:17 pm

Deider wrote:- setting Max Memory Usage=32 in nwnplayer.ini
- setting Client CPU Affinity=-2 or -1 in nwnplayer.ini


Re: Modifying nwn .ini and nwnplayer.ini
Gorgon wrote:Improving game performance:

Also under [Game Options] in nwnplayer.ini, you can increase how much memory the client uses to cache resources, like models it loads from your haks. This is very important with many of the more detailed ones (*shakes a tiny fist at horsies and other big ones* ). The setting to increase is:
Code: Select all
Max Memory Usage=16


You will want at least 32, and many recommend 128 or 256 even. You can try higher, but it probably won't help past that, and that memory could be used for other things. If you run NWN from a SSD, you probably won't notice any improvement here, but at least set it to 32 or 64.
*Note* Bioware mentions the original game doesn't see any noticeable improvements past 32, but they don't have our custom content either.
Every time a new PC or critter shows on the screen, the game has to load the models (it, and its dynamic gear + any VFX) from the haks or main game content. If you cache more of it into memory, you can avoid loading it again the next time you see it, which can significantly help in big events or romps.

Another setting under [Game Options] to try adjusting is:
Code: Select all
Client CPU Affinity=0


You can try to use the default affinity (if any) provided by the operating system if you set:
Code: Select all
Client CPU Affinity=-2

There is a minus before the 2 there, and means it will try using multiple cores. If that doesn't help (or makes things worse), you can try a single core other than the first one, since the first core is used more than others by many older applications (and even newer ones). A setting of -1 is the same as 0, which is the first core, so try setting it to 1 or higher. Obviously you can only set this based on how many cores your CPU has, so a quad core would go as high as 3 (0 was the 1st core, remember?).
More details on Client CPU Affinity here.

- Try setting setting Max Memory Usage=64 at least, with the stuff we have in haks (are you really gonna notice 128 or 256 megs with gigs to spare?). If it has the 5400rpm drive, load times aren't going to be speedy from it, so you don't want to redo it all the time.
- Client CPU Affinity=-1 is the same as 0 (1st core), and -2 is it trying to use both. NWN and new Windows don't get along with multicore very well (mileage varies for different folks). Try using Client CPU Affinity=1 (no minus) for the second core only.
Note: the toolset has a different setting and values mentioned here, if you are messing with that as well, and another topic for Win 10 slowdowns: Toolset Getting Slower and Slower

There are some other tips there, and in various posts here and the web, about slow NWN in newer Windows too (some specific to different hardware/drivers), so try searching here and Google. As mentioned, you do need all the .exe files run as admin and in XP-SP3 compatibility mode (just being clear about "all of them"). You may have to run nwmain.exe directly like that, not the nwn.exe that loads it too (and of course NWNCX_Loader.exe if using that).
"God not only plays dice, he throws them in the corner where you can't see them."
-- Stephen William Hawking (b. 1942) --


Sprucing up ye olde NWN | Modifying nwn.ini and nwnplayer.ini | ~Rare Items Wanted~ | Stealth Modifiers
User avatar
Gorgon
QA's 2nd|CCC Mobster
QA's 2nd|CCC Mobster
 
Posts: 5866
Images: 38
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 10:14 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Timezone: PDT -7

Re: NWN running sloooooooooooooooooooooow

PostAuthor: Deider » Sat Apr 15, 2017 3:27 am

Thank you for the info and advice. I've tried a few more things, based on this thread and some internet digging:

- set Client CPU Affinity=2
- set Max Memory Usage=64
- set both nwmain.exe and nwn.exe to be run by Administrator in Windows XP SP3 mode
- changed the filename of nwmain.exe
- updated the laptop sound driver
- changed the sound settings, including turning off the sound
- running the game in fullscreen mode instead of windowed

Unfortunately the game still runs way too slowly to play. Any more tips in your bag of tricks? :)

One thing I have not tried yet that was mentioned was to run NWN off of an SSD.
I like gnomes.
User avatar
Deider
Uber Posting Whor3
 
Posts: 7995
Images: 3
Joined: Sun May 11, 2003 12:33 pm
Location: California
Timezone: GMT -8

Re: NWN running sloooooooooooooooooooooow

PostAuthor: Tulip » Sat Apr 15, 2017 4:30 am

And you don't have any overrides at all? Maybe an outdated / buggy hak pak? Not sure if those would cause it, though.
TulipRural Feypriest Archervenger of Dru'El and Fey of Flappertunity
Harry Hammerwell — some dwarf
User avatar
Tulip
Prince of Bloated Discourse
 
Posts: 159
Images: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 11:34 am
Location: T'Nanshi
Timezone: Eastern (GMT-4)

Re: NWN running sloooooooooooooooooooooow

PostAuthor: Sarmanos » Sat Apr 15, 2017 4:49 am

Here's my settings since there seems to be a lack of consistency in what works and what doesn't. Notably, I am on Windows 10 not running NWN in compatibility mode and in windowed mode. Also using a ton of overrides to improve textures, etc...

Finally, I've been porting the same install folder from PC to PC and OS to OS for over a decade with no complications in how the game itself runs for the most part. Can't say the same for the toolset though.

nwn.ini wrote:[Alias]
HD0=.\
CD0=D:\
OVERRIDE=.\override
TEMP=.\temp
MODULES=.\modules
LOGS=.\logs
LOCALVAULT=.\localvault
DMVAULT=.\dmvault
SERVERVAULT=.\servervault
TEMPCLIENT=.\tempclient
SAVES=.\saves
CURRENTGAME=.\currentgame
HAK=.\hak
PATCH=.\patch
NWMFiles=.\nwm
AMBIENT=.\ambient
MOVIES=.\movies
MUSIC=.\music
[Game Options]
Memory Level=1
Memory Access=1
Max Memory Usage=64
[Sound Options]
Music Volume=0.00
Voice Volume=0.50
SoundFX Volume=0.50
DisableSound=0
3D Provider=Creative Labs EAX 3 (TM)
Environment Effects Level=1.00
Environment Effects=1
Number 2D Voices=32
Number 3D Voices=16
2D3D Bias=1.50
Speaker Type=0
[Display Options]
Width=1600
Height=900
BitsPerPixels=32
RefreshRate=60
TexturePack=3
SafeMovie=0
FullScreen=0
UseLargeFont=1
AllowWindowedMode=1
Disable Intro Movies=1
[Config]
FirstRun=0
Connection=0
NWLoaderDisplayTime=3
[Video Options]
VideoQualitySetting=3
Enable HardwareMouse=1
NumDynamicLights=8
AntiAliasing Mode=4
Enable VSync=1
ShinyWater=1
NumShadowCastingLights=3
EnableVisualEffectsHigh=1
Enable Truform=1
Enable AnisotropicFiltering=1
CreatureWindSetting=2
EnableGrass=1
EnableFastGrass=0
EnableSkyboxes=1
Enable TextureAnimations=1
Enable CreatureEnvironmentMapping=1
Gamma=1.000000
EnableEnvironmentShadows=1
CreatureShadowDetail=2
Grass Far Render Distance=900.0


Partial nwnplayer.ini wrote:[Game Options]
Single Player ItemLevelRestrictions=0
Single Player Enforce Legal Characters=0
Memory Level=1
Memory Access=2
Max Memory Usage=512
TooltipDelay uSec=100000
Enable FloatyTextFeedback=1
Hide SecondStoryTiles=0
ClientEntireChatWindowLogging=1
LogMyEmoteUsage=0
Difficulty Level=1
MouseoverFeedback=1
TextBubbleMode=1
CODEWORD=hacktastic
CODEWORD=andiwantapony
Heartbeat Logging=0
CODEWORD XP2=biojello
TargetingFeedbackMode=2
Client CPU Affinity=-2
Log Model Errors=0
In-game Text Swear Filter=0
Visible Cloaks=1
Death Logging=0
CODEWORD XP1=hickorysticks
DisablePartyInvitePopup=0
Vetinari: I have noted before that you have a definite anti-authoritarian streak, Commander.
Vimes: Sir?
Vetinari: You seem to have retained this even though you are Authority.
Vimes: Sir?
Vetinari: That's practically Zen.
User avatar
Sarmanos
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 2607
Images: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 7:04 am
Location: Massillon, OH
Timezone: GMT -5

Re: NWN running sloooooooooooooooooooooow

PostAuthor: Gorgon » Sat Apr 15, 2017 6:28 am

Um... nwn.ini?
[Game Options]
Memory Level=1
Memory Access=1
Max Memory Usage=64

Those should not be in you nwn.ini, though they are (probably) ignored. They are also in you nwnplayer.ini as:
[Game Options]
...
Memory Level=1
Memory Access=2
Max Memory Usage=512

They mean you are using normal violence (Memory Level=1), and the Memory Access=2 would enable blood and chunky bits, but requires Memory Level=2 to allow setting "special" violence (probably so kids couldn't turn on chunky bits via slider without editing the file). That's how the settings are described, but I haven't messed with it to confirm it (I always set both to 2. I'm a big boy. I can take it :censored: ).

*Edits with quotage*
Some NWN website wrote:Extra violence level option:
To turn on an extra level of violence, open the nwnplayer.ini file and change Memory Level=1 to Memory Level=2 and Memory Access=1 to Memory Access=2. Save the file and start the game. You will see a new violence level under the 'Game Settings' tab called "Special" and it should be already selected.


You are also using 512 megs, which is good for the amount of content we have IMO. I use a gig on my older box (Max Memory Usage=1024), and it never has issues with needing to reload stuff it has loaded once. 32 or 64 may be fine for the standard game, but some of the new models and things in our haks are huge, and we have tons of it loading in areas all the time. Like I said, if you have several gigs of ram to use, why not (unless you have an ssd)?

ShinyWater=1 is dangerous, but if you aren't having crash issues, then up to you.

In nwnplayer.ini:
- I see you never finished SoU or HotU by the CODEWORD XP1/CODEWORD XP2 values :P (you have 2 x CODEWORD values as well, which is redundant) .
- Client CPU Affinity=-2 might not be best for a portable install and compatibility, but you also can't predict how many cores everyone will have to use. -1 or 0 would be the safest, but if multiple cores work with -2 (and don't turn into a slide show), great!
- Difficulty Level=1 *snickers* :lame:

If everything works in Win 10 with no extra compatibility mode or whatever usage (and no crashes with shiny water on), then you are one of the rare/lucky ones. :wink:

*moar edits* - While NWN runs just fine by copying it to any location, or as a portable thing, several external apps do need the registry entries the game normally has (same as the old updater you'll never need again). If you need the registry settings for something like that, running nwconfig.exe should set them up again, but be sure to backup your nwn.ini (and nwnplayer.ini just in case). The config will change values you might not want changed, so you can just copy the backups to your nwn folder after running it (or manually compare and edit).
"God not only plays dice, he throws them in the corner where you can't see them."
-- Stephen William Hawking (b. 1942) --


Sprucing up ye olde NWN | Modifying nwn.ini and nwnplayer.ini | ~Rare Items Wanted~ | Stealth Modifiers
User avatar
Gorgon
QA's 2nd|CCC Mobster
QA's 2nd|CCC Mobster
 
Posts: 5866
Images: 38
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 10:14 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Timezone: PDT -7

Re: NWN running sloooooooooooooooooooooow

PostAuthor: Sarmanos » Sat Apr 15, 2017 3:45 pm

I totally did beat the campaigns way back...the unlocks just got undone from what was likely a reinstall back then. Anyways, some of those options were probably there from manual tweaks I did trying to get more performance out of it but since they didn't appear to break anything I never removed them. Also here's a full thing of my system specs too just for more comparison on trying to figure out the slow speed. While NWN itself runs perfectly fine with this hardware, the toolset chugs when going into any properties menus to the point of being infuriating and no fix I have tried seems to help.

Computer Information:
Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
Model: To be filled by O.E.M.
Form Factor: Desktop
Touch Input Detected

Processor Information:
CPU Vendor: AuthenticAMD
CPU Brand: AMD FX(tm)-8350 Eight-Core Processor
CPU Family: 0x15
CPU Model: 0x2
CPU Stepping: 0x0
CPU Type: 0x0
Speed: 4018 Mhz
8 logical processors
4 physical processors
HyperThreading: Supported
FCMOV: Supported
SSE2: Supported
SSE3: Supported
SSSE3: Supported
SSE4a: Supported
SSE41: Supported
SSE42: Supported
AES: Supported
AVX: Supported
CMPXCHG16B: Supported
LAHF/SAHF: Supported
PrefetchW: Supported

Network Information:
Network Speed:

Operating System Version:
Windows 10 (64 bit)
NTFS: Supported
Crypto Provider Codes: Supported 311 0x0 0x0 0x0

Video Card:
Driver: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960

DirectX Driver Name: nvd3dum.dll
Driver Version: 21.21.13.7892
DirectX Driver Version: 21.21.13.7892
Driver Date: 16 Mar 2017
OpenGL Version: 4.5
Desktop Color Depth: 32 bits per pixel
Monitor Refresh Rate: 60 Hz
DirectX Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960
VendorID: 0x10de
DeviceID: 0x1401
Revision: 0xa1
Number of Monitors: 2
Number of Logical Video Cards: 2
No SLI or Crossfire Detected
Primary Display Resolution: 1920 x 1080
Desktop Resolution: 3840 x 1080
Primary Display Size: 20.91" x 11.77" (23.98" diag)
53.1cm x 29.9cm (60.9cm diag)
Primary Bus: PCI Express 16x
Primary VRAM: 4095 MB
Supported MSAA Modes: 2x 4x 8x

Sound card:
Audio device: SBZ Speakers (Sound Blaster Z)

Memory:
RAM: 32732 Mb

Miscellaneous:
UI Language: English
Microphone: Not set
Steam Controller Cable and Base: Not set
Media Type: DVD
Total Hard Disk Space Available: 7305080 Mb
Largest Free Hard Disk Block: 1486602 Mb
OS Install Date: Dec 31 1969
Game Controller: XInput Controller #1 detected
VR Headset: None detected
Vetinari: I have noted before that you have a definite anti-authoritarian streak, Commander.
Vimes: Sir?
Vetinari: You seem to have retained this even though you are Authority.
Vimes: Sir?
Vetinari: That's practically Zen.
User avatar
Sarmanos
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 2607
Images: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 7:04 am
Location: Massillon, OH
Timezone: GMT -5

Re: NWN running sloooooooooooooooooooooow

PostAuthor: Deider » Sat Apr 15, 2017 3:50 pm

Thanks again everybody for all of the help. An update: I still can't get NWN to run any faster than a crawl on my friend's laptop, so I have gone with a nostalgic Plan B. I dug out of mothballs the old Windows XP desktop PC I used to use to play & DM NWN. (Adding to the nostalgia is the fact that IIRC I got it from tindertwiggy!!) Installed NWN on it and it runs like a charm. :D

I'll keep working on getting it to run right on the laptop, since that is the ideal solution. My best but wholly uneducated guess is that it's a video card (or lack thereof) or driver issue. If I figure out what's causing the issue I will post here.
I like gnomes.
User avatar
Deider
Uber Posting Whor3
 
Posts: 7995
Images: 3
Joined: Sun May 11, 2003 12:33 pm
Location: California
Timezone: GMT -8

Re: NWN running sloooooooooooooooooooooow

PostAuthor: Elradra » Tue Apr 18, 2017 3:45 am

My own Win 10 laptop played NWN just fine until the updates Windows released back in March. Ever since then it takes a full 5 seconds between my input and reaction, both online and off. I haven't tried uninstalling those updates yet to see if it fixes it (since I have a nice Win 7 desktop with all of my games anyway,) but it might be another possible solution.
367

Now with 40+ alts to meet!
User avatar
Elradra
Prince of Bloated Discourse
 
Posts: 215
Images: 7
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 8:48 am
Location: Fargo, ND
Timezone: Central US

Re: NWN running sloooooooooooooooooooooow

PostAuthor: GrimlyAxefingler » Tue Apr 18, 2017 3:50 am

I have to admit most of this thread is above my head, but i also bought NWN from GoG and play on a windows 10 machine, and had every problem you can think of until i did the 1.69 critical rebuild.
User avatar
GrimlyAxefingler
CCC
CCC
 
Posts: 154
Images: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 9:46 pm
Location: Hamilton Ontario Canada
Timezone: EST

Re: NWN running sloooooooooooooooooooooow

PostAuthor: badjabadjabadja » Thu Apr 20, 2017 2:17 pm

Elradra wrote:My own Win 10 laptop played NWN just fine until the updates Windows released back in March. Ever since then it takes a full 5 seconds between my input and reaction, both online and off. I haven't tried uninstalling those updates yet to see if it fixes it (since I have a nice Win 7 desktop with all of my games anyway,) but it might be another possible solution.


I have a 2nd NWN installed on a shitty win 10 netbook, up until a month ago it ran a bit slow, but it ran and was great for checking things IG, logging in to chat IG and some QA stuff, but not full on pitched combat, especially with a few players on.

Now, it reports 30+ FPS, but my avatar just does not move at all (perhaps it is reporting 30 SPF?)

I'll guess this is caused by the same thing Elradra reports, anyone got an idea which Win10 update killed it, or should I just target them all in reverse date order? There are internet mutterings about security update KB4013429, but I can't find anything specific to NWN.

badjabadjabadja
QA Resource
 
Posts: 2144
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 3:38 pm
Location: South Wales UK
Timezone: GMT (+1)

Re: NWN running sloooooooooooooooooooooow

PostAuthor: tizmo » Thu Apr 20, 2017 2:35 pm

I have a fully updated Win 10 system and it runs just fine when playing the game. It's on a desktop PC with lots of memory, a decent video card (NVIDIA), and on a SSD. I run with high video settings in the game and have no problems.

If you have run Resource Monitor and don't see anything obvious for the CPU, Memory, or Disk, I would put the blame on the video card. More specifically, the video card driver. See if the laptop vendor has their own version of the video card driver that you can download/install.

tizmo
CCC
CCC
 
Posts: 1358
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 2:53 pm
Location: Washington, DC
Timezone: GMT-4

Re: NWN running sloooooooooooooooooooooow

PostAuthor: Sathsarrion » Fri Apr 21, 2017 6:24 am

Are you sure NWN is running on the right GPU? I used to run NWN on an old laptop that had 2 GPUs. An Intel one built into the motherboard that it used to save power on general low-demand stuff, and an Nvidia card it switched to for 3D rendering.

The problem I had was that NWN was too old for Windows to automatically recognize it as something that needed a high performance GPU, so by default it tried to use the crappy Intel GPU that was never intended to handle much more than a web browser.

The settings for which GPU a program uses can be changed but for the life of me, I can't remember how. And what I did may not work now anyway, since I did it back in the Windows Vista days.
User avatar
Sathsarrion
Sage
 
Posts: 2630
Images: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: Sydney
Timezone: GMT+10

Re: NWN running sloooooooooooooooooooooow

PostAuthor: tizmo » Sat Apr 22, 2017 4:13 pm

Sathsarrion wrote:Are you sure NWN is running on the right GPU? I used to run NWN on an old laptop that had 2 GPUs. An Intel one built into the motherboard that it used to save power on general low-demand stuff, and an Nvidia card it switched to for 3D rendering.

The problem I had was that NWN was too old for Windows to automatically recognize it as something that needed a high performance GPU, so by default it tried to use the crappy Intel GPU that was never intended to handle much more than a web browser.

The settings for which GPU a program uses can be changed but for the life of me, I can't remember how. And what I did may not work now anyway, since I did it back in the Windows Vista days.


^ This is a great idea to test. I did a google search for "windows 10 application use 3d graphics card on laptop" and found several sites with instructions. Here is one example URL that gives instructions for how to force an application to use a specific graphics card.

tizmo
CCC
CCC
 
Posts: 1358
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 2:53 pm
Location: Washington, DC
Timezone: GMT-4

Re: NWN running sloooooooooooooooooooooow

PostAuthor: Levis Pie » Mon May 29, 2017 4:22 pm

having the same issue. campaign works fine unless I open a menu, main menu runs sluggish after I quit back to that screen. any ideas aside from whats been posted already? I've tried everything mentioned already, aside from
GrimlyAxefingler wrote:I have to admit most of this thread is above my head, but i also bought NWN from GoG and play on a windows 10 machine, and had every problem you can think of until i did the 1.69 critical rebuild.
should I go ahead and give that a shot? one thing to note, I took a look in my override folder and it's massive, over 7000 files. could this the culprit be? maybe a fresh install needs to be done? thanks for any info/suggestions.
Member of the Plethora Fan Club!
nwmblondy wrote:*Kisses Levis Pie*
User avatar
Levis Pie
Sage
 
Posts: 2049
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: SEMO
Timezone: CST

Re: NWN running sloooooooooooooooooooooow

PostAuthor: GrimlyAxefingler » Mon May 29, 2017 4:47 pm

probably couldnt hurt..heres the one i used

https://neverwintervault.org/project/nw ... ld-english
User avatar
GrimlyAxefingler
CCC
CCC
 
Posts: 154
Images: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 9:46 pm
Location: Hamilton Ontario Canada
Timezone: EST

Re: NWN running sloooooooooooooooooooooow

PostAuthor: Gorgon » Mon May 29, 2017 5:55 pm

All of them can be found here (though that is just a nicer list of them, since they come from the vault).

That is also linked on our wiki, since it is needed so often, but for some reason they decided it shouldn't be on the Needed files page anymore (against my advice). You now have to check the NWN Requirements page, which isn't very intuitive IMO, but not my call. X:|
"God not only plays dice, he throws them in the corner where you can't see them."
-- Stephen William Hawking (b. 1942) --


Sprucing up ye olde NWN | Modifying nwn.ini and nwnplayer.ini | ~Rare Items Wanted~ | Stealth Modifiers
User avatar
Gorgon
QA's 2nd|CCC Mobster
QA's 2nd|CCC Mobster
 
Posts: 5866
Images: 38
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 10:14 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Timezone: PDT -7

Re: NWN running sloooooooooooooooooooooow

PostAuthor: Levis Pie » Wed May 31, 2017 9:17 pm

rebuild and new hak files haven't sorted the problem. seems odd that I played a couple months back with no issues. maybe my old desktop can be resurrected and put to use.
Member of the Plethora Fan Club!
nwmblondy wrote:*Kisses Levis Pie*
User avatar
Levis Pie
Sage
 
Posts: 2049
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: SEMO
Timezone: CST

Re: NWN running sloooooooooooooooooooooow

PostAuthor: Darkfire » Wed May 31, 2017 10:09 pm

Levis Pie wrote:rebuild and new hak files haven't sorted the problem. seems odd that I played a couple months back with no issues. maybe my old desktop can be resurrected and put to use.


You try a few different methods of compatibility mode?
CoEMF :devil: :feuer:
WrathOG777: This is a roleplaying game. There is no such thing as winning or losing. Only playing.
Player of Dameon Nepirtas
User avatar
Darkfire
Major DM
Major DM
 
Posts: 13683
Images: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: Missouri
Timezone: CST (-5 GMT)

Re: NWN running sloooooooooooooooooooooow

PostAuthor: Levis Pie » Thu Jun 01, 2017 12:03 am

Darkfire wrote:
Levis Pie wrote:rebuild and new hak files haven't sorted the problem. seems odd that I played a couple months back with no issues. maybe my old desktop can be resurrected and put to use.


You try a few different methods of compatibility mode?


xp sp2&3, vista sp2&3
Member of the Plethora Fan Club!
nwmblondy wrote:*Kisses Levis Pie*
User avatar
Levis Pie
Sage
 
Posts: 2049
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: SEMO
Timezone: CST

Re: NWN running sloooooooooooooooooooooow

PostAuthor: GrimlyAxefingler » Thu Jun 01, 2017 12:25 am

i also had to run as administrator.
User avatar
GrimlyAxefingler
CCC
CCC
 
Posts: 154
Images: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 9:46 pm
Location: Hamilton Ontario Canada
Timezone: EST


Return to NWN General Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Sephira