Server Totals
M'Chek - (4)
Deglos - (1)
Mikona - (1)
Visimontium - (1)
Ferrell - (0)
Elysia - (0)
Le'Or - (0)
Wilderness - (0)
Underdark - (0)
Total players: 7
Gallery

Links Menu

NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

Moderators: Nighthawk4, Dungeon Masters

NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: ScottG » Tue Mar 15, 2016 6:39 am

Got NWN to work well on Mac with WineHQ.
Works like a charm and no issues as of yet.

Here's the lowdown on how to make it work:

1. Download this:
http://forum.bioware.com/topic/125609-m ... x-wrapper/
More specifically this: https://www.mediafire.com/?2img3h1oh8j03
2. Read directions with pack and you're golden... But I'll walk you through a quicker path...
3. Right click on the NWN app and choose "Show Package Contents"
4. Go to "drive_c/Program Files/" and throw your NWN folder from your PC into there.
5. Go back up a few directories to see the "Wineskin" app and run that.
6. Click on "Advanced -> Configuration" tabs and point it to the nwnmain.exe

It should work fine then. There's a few other options when it comes to doing windowed mode but I think that's relatively easy to figure out.

Enjoy!

ScottG
Scholar of Fools
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 1:17 am
Timezone: -8

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: Seka » Tue Mar 15, 2016 6:46 am

Great! I have to try this.
User avatar
Seka
CCC
CCC
 
Posts: 1301
Images: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 12:37 am
Location: Brooklyn
Timezone: EDT (GMT -4)

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: Nighthawk4 » Tue Mar 15, 2016 8:26 am

I used to do this. It worked well :wink:
Life is never as bad as you think it is, although that doesn't help at the time.

Orleron wrote:I think it's a fun idea if you can idiot-proof it. Problem is God always builds a better idiot. :P


Please visit:
Avlis UK, ACE Forum and SATF Forum

Image
User avatar
Nighthawk4
Eldest DM
Eldest DM
 
Posts: 23898
Images: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:32 pm
Location: The Home of the Bard of Avon
Timezone: GMT
DM Avatar: DruEl

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: Nighthawk4 » Mon May 23, 2016 6:34 pm

Just tried this again on a new MacBook Pro and it fails.

Gives an error regarding FreeType font library.

No idea what that means. Tried a few options but no luck.

This is with a new copy of the dedicated NWN version of Wineskin.

Any thoughts please? X:|
Life is never as bad as you think it is, although that doesn't help at the time.

Orleron wrote:I think it's a fun idea if you can idiot-proof it. Problem is God always builds a better idiot. :P


Please visit:
Avlis UK, ACE Forum and SATF Forum

Image
User avatar
Nighthawk4
Eldest DM
Eldest DM
 
Posts: 23898
Images: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:32 pm
Location: The Home of the Bard of Avon
Timezone: GMT
DM Avatar: DruEl

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: ScottG » Mon May 23, 2016 6:58 pm

Did you try the links I used for files? Maybe the new files you're using have a conflict?

If its a font thing, maybe a font is missing from one of the folders inside?
Never had that issue.

ScottG
Scholar of Fools
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 1:17 am
Timezone: -8

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: Nighthawk4 » Mon May 23, 2016 7:17 pm

Yes, exactly that.

Tried a couple of older versions I had as well. Now trying another download, just in case.

Does yours work in El Capitan? X:|
Life is never as bad as you think it is, although that doesn't help at the time.

Orleron wrote:I think it's a fun idea if you can idiot-proof it. Problem is God always builds a better idiot. :P


Please visit:
Avlis UK, ACE Forum and SATF Forum

Image
User avatar
Nighthawk4
Eldest DM
Eldest DM
 
Posts: 23898
Images: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:32 pm
Location: The Home of the Bard of Avon
Timezone: GMT
DM Avatar: DruEl

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: Nighthawk4 » Mon May 23, 2016 7:26 pm

Tried a new copy - same result :cry:
Life is never as bad as you think it is, although that doesn't help at the time.

Orleron wrote:I think it's a fun idea if you can idiot-proof it. Problem is God always builds a better idiot. :P


Please visit:
Avlis UK, ACE Forum and SATF Forum

Image
User avatar
Nighthawk4
Eldest DM
Eldest DM
 
Posts: 23898
Images: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:32 pm
Location: The Home of the Bard of Avon
Timezone: GMT
DM Avatar: DruEl

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: tindertwiggy » Mon May 23, 2016 7:29 pm

I *think* you need to install "Microsoft Core fonts."

Should be an option in win. You can do it manually too I think.
Happiness is baked with one part bat guano, one part sulfur.

tindertwiggy
Legacy DM
Legacy DM
 
Posts: 6682
Images: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 12:20 am
Location: Nippon

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: ScottG » Mon May 23, 2016 7:54 pm

If that's the case you could just copy those into the Font folder inside of the bigger Windows directory inside the Winskin.

If that doesn't work, perhaps copy and paste the full error here and maybe we can figure out what's going on.
Its just strange that it works fine on my computer but not yours. That said, I used to have parallels on mine...

ScottG
Scholar of Fools
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 1:17 am
Timezone: -8

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: Nighthawk4 » Mon May 23, 2016 9:01 pm

Trying to download the fonts but all I get is Word97 Viewer :cry:
Life is never as bad as you think it is, although that doesn't help at the time.

Orleron wrote:I think it's a fun idea if you can idiot-proof it. Problem is God always builds a better idiot. :P


Please visit:
Avlis UK, ACE Forum and SATF Forum

Image
User avatar
Nighthawk4
Eldest DM
Eldest DM
 
Posts: 23898
Images: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:32 pm
Location: The Home of the Bard of Avon
Timezone: GMT
DM Avatar: DruEl

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: tindertwiggy » Tue May 24, 2016 12:54 am

Copy the following fonts from your osx fonts folder to C:\Windows\Fonts in the wine directory you are using for nwn.

Andale Mono, Arial, Arial Black, Comic Sans MS, Courier New, Georgia, Impact, Times New Roman, Trebuchet MS, Verdana and Webdings
Happiness is baked with one part bat guano, one part sulfur.

tindertwiggy
Legacy DM
Legacy DM
 
Posts: 6682
Images: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 12:20 am
Location: Nippon

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: ScottG » Tue May 24, 2016 3:06 am

If that doesn't work I can send you my Windows Fonts folder.

ScottG
Scholar of Fools
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 1:17 am
Timezone: -8

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: Nighthawk4 » Tue May 24, 2016 5:46 am

Copied the fonts from Windows - still no good.

It insists on TrueType fonts :?
Life is never as bad as you think it is, although that doesn't help at the time.

Orleron wrote:I think it's a fun idea if you can idiot-proof it. Problem is God always builds a better idiot. :P


Please visit:
Avlis UK, ACE Forum and SATF Forum

Image
User avatar
Nighthawk4
Eldest DM
Eldest DM
 
Posts: 23898
Images: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:32 pm
Location: The Home of the Bard of Avon
Timezone: GMT
DM Avatar: DruEl

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: Nighthawk4 » Tue May 24, 2016 7:41 am

Tried installing XQuartz and FreeType fonts.

Will test later, as I ran out of time :glaskugel:


Also found reports that this is a known issue with El Capitan - Doh123 (the one who wrote the Wineskin wrapper for NWN) is trying to find a fix :wink:
Life is never as bad as you think it is, although that doesn't help at the time.

Orleron wrote:I think it's a fun idea if you can idiot-proof it. Problem is God always builds a better idiot. :P


Please visit:
Avlis UK, ACE Forum and SATF Forum

Image
User avatar
Nighthawk4
Eldest DM
Eldest DM
 
Posts: 23898
Images: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:32 pm
Location: The Home of the Bard of Avon
Timezone: GMT
DM Avatar: DruEl

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: Nighthawk4 » Tue May 24, 2016 11:51 am

Getting closer.

Now I get the main menu and ran the updater successfully.

Unfortunately, the actual game does not load :cry:
Life is never as bad as you think it is, although that doesn't help at the time.

Orleron wrote:I think it's a fun idea if you can idiot-proof it. Problem is God always builds a better idiot. :P


Please visit:
Avlis UK, ACE Forum and SATF Forum

Image
User avatar
Nighthawk4
Eldest DM
Eldest DM
 
Posts: 23898
Images: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:32 pm
Location: The Home of the Bard of Avon
Timezone: GMT
DM Avatar: DruEl

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: ScottG » Tue May 24, 2016 8:25 pm

Nice!

I'm running Yosemite.

Try just grabbing your whole folder from your Windows PC and dropping it in. That's what I did and it worked fine. It was also easier, because I didn't have to deal with the updating.

ScottG
Scholar of Fools
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 1:17 am
Timezone: -8

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: Nighthawk4 » Tue May 24, 2016 10:17 pm

That is what I did. I get the impression the problem is with El Capitan rather than Yosemite.

Still not getting the actual game loading, only the menu, although the Updater worked.

Config, Player Mode and DM Mode all fail. No error messages, it just closes the App :cry:
Life is never as bad as you think it is, although that doesn't help at the time.

Orleron wrote:I think it's a fun idea if you can idiot-proof it. Problem is God always builds a better idiot. :P


Please visit:
Avlis UK, ACE Forum and SATF Forum

Image
User avatar
Nighthawk4
Eldest DM
Eldest DM
 
Posts: 23898
Images: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:32 pm
Location: The Home of the Bard of Avon
Timezone: GMT
DM Avatar: DruEl

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: ScottG » Tue May 24, 2016 11:01 pm

Sounds about right...
Ugh. Well I guess I won't update then, until that's figured out.

Though, you could try doing the folder thing and seeing if that works, but yeah it sounds like its an El Capitan thing.

ScottG
Scholar of Fools
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 1:17 am
Timezone: -8

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: Nighthawk4 » Wed May 25, 2016 10:07 am

Not had a chance to try this yet :?
Life is never as bad as you think it is, although that doesn't help at the time.

Orleron wrote:I think it's a fun idea if you can idiot-proof it. Problem is God always builds a better idiot. :P


Please visit:
Avlis UK, ACE Forum and SATF Forum

Image
User avatar
Nighthawk4
Eldest DM
Eldest DM
 
Posts: 23898
Images: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:32 pm
Location: The Home of the Bard of Avon
Timezone: GMT
DM Avatar: DruEl

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: Nighthawk4 » Tue Jun 07, 2016 3:15 pm

I installed the Porting Kit and now I have NWN running on my Mac :shock:

Admittedly, it only runs at 800x600 but it does login to Avlis, both Player and DM and runs quite well.

I can't get the Updater to run and there are no other Graphics options available in the NWN Config settings. I will try the Graphics settings in the Wineskin.

Edit:
1. This is on El Capitan
2. I just finished installing a Windows 10 VM in VM Fusion :lol:
Life is never as bad as you think it is, although that doesn't help at the time.

Orleron wrote:I think it's a fun idea if you can idiot-proof it. Problem is God always builds a better idiot. :P


Please visit:
Avlis UK, ACE Forum and SATF Forum

Image
User avatar
Nighthawk4
Eldest DM
Eldest DM
 
Posts: 23898
Images: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:32 pm
Location: The Home of the Bard of Avon
Timezone: GMT
DM Avatar: DruEl

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: ScottG » Tue Jun 07, 2016 3:53 pm

Which porting kit? (link?)

For resolution, I have issues because I run on two screens, so I actually need to turn off a screen when I open the Wineskin. When I do this it will register the current live monitor. I haven't looked into the Wineskin Graphics Settings though.

Haven't played with VM Fusion yet. ;)

ScottG
Scholar of Fools
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 1:17 am
Timezone: -8

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: Nighthawk4 » Tue Jun 07, 2016 5:08 pm

The Porting Kit is here :wink:
Life is never as bad as you think it is, although that doesn't help at the time.

Orleron wrote:I think it's a fun idea if you can idiot-proof it. Problem is God always builds a better idiot. :P


Please visit:
Avlis UK, ACE Forum and SATF Forum

Image
User avatar
Nighthawk4
Eldest DM
Eldest DM
 
Posts: 23898
Images: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:32 pm
Location: The Home of the Bard of Avon
Timezone: GMT
DM Avatar: DruEl

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: Nighthawk4 » Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:25 pm

I fixed the resolution problem.

I set it to override the default and that allowed me to select the correct resolution. Now it works at full resolution.

Not tried the nwcnx thing yet and of course no shortcuts for each server - but it does work - and faster than my Windows box :lol:
Life is never as bad as you think it is, although that doesn't help at the time.

Orleron wrote:I think it's a fun idea if you can idiot-proof it. Problem is God always builds a better idiot. :P


Please visit:
Avlis UK, ACE Forum and SATF Forum

Image
User avatar
Nighthawk4
Eldest DM
Eldest DM
 
Posts: 23898
Images: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:32 pm
Location: The Home of the Bard of Avon
Timezone: GMT
DM Avatar: DruEl

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: ScottG » Wed Jun 08, 2016 2:58 am

AWESOME!

Now if I upgrade my OS, I know where to look for answers!

:prost:

ScottG
Scholar of Fools
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 1:17 am
Timezone: -8

Re: NWN on Mac, no Parallels or other nonsense

PostAuthor: ScottG » Sat Jun 11, 2016 10:20 pm

Nighthawk4 wrote:I fixed the resolution problem.

I set it to override the default and that allowed me to select the correct resolution. Now it works at full resolution.

Not tried the nwcnx thing yet and of course no shortcuts for each server - but it does work - and faster than my Windows box :lol:


When you set it to override the default, what was your process?
Also, do you play in windowed mode? I tend to prefer this, because it allows me multiple screens running and to have notes or any other info, I might need at the ready. (Especially useful if you're DMing).

ScottG
Scholar of Fools
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 1:17 am
Timezone: -8

Next

Return to NWN General Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot]