Server Totals
Le'Or - (1)
Deglos - (1)
Mikona - (1)
Wilderness - (1)
Visimontium - (1)
Elysia - (0)
M'Chek - (0)
Ferrell - (0)
Underdark - (0)
Total players: 5
Gallery

Links Menu

ATI or Nvidia?

Moderators: Nighthawk4, Dungeon Masters

ATI or Nvidia?

PostAuthor: KinX » Tue May 04, 2010 11:30 pm

I'm building a new pc and reading here and there in the interwebs it seems the ATI video cards are all the rage these days. However, I've been reading that ATI drivers can cause problems with NWN. So I'd like to hear (read? ) people's thoughts.

Firstly, is there an issue with ATI drivers and NWN? if so, is it a big hurdle or more of an annoyance?

Secondly, is there any major hurdles I should be aware of with Windows 7 and NWN? I know there was a minor issue with Vista that was easily overcome, but I like to know these things beforehand instead of being surprised later on.

Thirdly, is it strange that I'm building a brand spanking new pc with the latest or next to latest technology and hardware and my major concern is whether it runs an 8 year old game properly?
Never argue with an idiot, they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

Image

This statement is false
User avatar
KinX
Elder Sage
 
Posts: 4968
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2002 2:53 pm
Timezone: GMT +1

Re: ATI or Nvidia?

PostAuthor: NayalaGelbert » Tue May 04, 2010 11:56 pm

I'm running ATI and I have run both. Given the choice, I tend to prefer ATI these days, but mostly for "I like the colour better" reasons than anything technical. The only thing I've ever had to do with ATI is shut off the shiny water... But I can't recall if you still have to... or if I have... *shrugs*

I'm also running NWN with a Sapphire 3850 (relatively new) on a Windows 7 Ultimate box.


Good luck!

NayalaGelbert
Gold Player
 
Posts: 1003
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 2:38 am

Re: ATI or Nvidia?

PostAuthor: Eklektikos » Wed May 05, 2010 12:05 am

For the record, I'm running with an Nvidia GTX260 and get fairly frequent NWN crashes due to graphics driver problems, even with shiny water turned off.

Not had an ATI card at any point, so can't comment on their reliability.
Player of:

Orfanos - Senior Mage of Dormiria for the Violet Order of the Skull
Kynes of Dagath
User avatar
Eklektikos
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 2129
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 3:50 pm
Location: London, UK
Timezone: GMT

Re: ATI or Nvidia?

PostAuthor: Grunt » Wed May 05, 2010 12:12 am

Eklektikos wrote:For the record, I'm running with an Nvidia GTX260 and get fairly frequent NWN crashes due to graphics driver problems, even with shiny water turned off.

Not had an ATI card at any point, so can't comment on their reliability.


ATI used to crash the shit out of me whenever someone came out of stealth, and other such things. nVidia, the later drivers would crash me often, but now I only get the occasional one with uhh 1/11/2010 version of drivers from Windows Update (6.14.11.9621) ...don't know if that'll help you at all, but hey.
FletcherWiki

*Stepping out of a portal*
Nawen Amakiir: there he is.. *smirks* someone had to make an entrance
Fletcher Millstone: MILLSTONE! *arms held high*
Lilliana Be'letane: You're the worst, Fletcher.
User avatar
Grunt
CCC
CCC
 
Posts: 9418
Images: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 12:37 am
Location: Boston, MA
Timezone: I AM A TIME LORD

Re: ATI or Nvidia?

PostAuthor: Pathos Street » Wed May 05, 2010 12:40 am

Happy NVidia user here. GTX 280, NWN only crashes at dwarftrade.

ATI had issue with some textures up in Kuras/kurathene fiefs IIRC. I'm not sure if those tilesets have been used elsewhere on Avlis at all.
Fergus Goodmane
White Order of the Light
-----
Xiaou wrote:Being the big bad wolf is a responsibility.
User avatar
Pathos Street
King of Avlis Charades
 
Posts: 4804
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 11:33 pm
Location: Hawkeye State
Timezone: CDT (GMT -5)

Re: ATI or Nvidia?

PostAuthor: wolfwielder » Wed May 05, 2010 1:57 am

I have only ever used ATI and never had any issues with any of the cards I use.
User avatar
wolfwielder
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 6692
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 6:14 pm
Location: Hidely ho neighbor!
Timezone: GMT -5/-4
DM Avatar: Balgar

Re: ATI or Nvidia?

PostAuthor: KinX » Wed May 05, 2010 3:31 am

thanks guys, good to know.

I've never been one to stick to a particular brand for anything, I've just always had nvidia cards because they were the best at the time i was building/upgrading that particular pc.

It seems like ATI is all the rage these days so I guess I'm leaning that way.
Never argue with an idiot, they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

Image

This statement is false
User avatar
KinX
Elder Sage
 
Posts: 4968
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2002 2:53 pm
Timezone: GMT +1

Re: ATI or Nvidia?

PostAuthor: Pathos Street » Wed May 05, 2010 5:44 am

Keep in mind ATI is the rage these days because the latest greatest fastest card happens to be made by ATI. Find a card that does what you need to do, different cards do different things better/worse.
Fergus Goodmane
White Order of the Light
-----
Xiaou wrote:Being the big bad wolf is a responsibility.
User avatar
Pathos Street
King of Avlis Charades
 
Posts: 4804
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 11:33 pm
Location: Hawkeye State
Timezone: CDT (GMT -5)

Re: ATI or Nvidia?

PostAuthor: Darkfire » Wed May 05, 2010 5:50 am

Good thing to do is look up benchmarks and comparisons of cards.


http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html

(one example)

Look around for specific reviews for the types of games you want to play, etc.

I've always been a geforce fan myself on a personal level though, but it's just a preference. In the end, like Pathos said, get what you need. Both brands are good and won't disappoint you so long as you aim in the general performance area you want/need. (Unless you want absolute top of the line, e-peen material does it actually matter in my opinion.)
CoEMF :devil: :feuer:
WrathOG777: This is a roleplaying game. There is no such thing as winning or losing. Only playing.
Player of Dameon Nepirtas
User avatar
Darkfire
Major DM
Major DM
 
Posts: 13684
Images: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: Missouri
Timezone: CST (-5 GMT)

Re: ATI or Nvidia?

PostAuthor: KinX » Wed May 05, 2010 6:59 am

thanks again.

I used to be on top of all this hardware stuff, you take a few years away and you get hit with all these acronyms
Never argue with an idiot, they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

Image

This statement is false
User avatar
KinX
Elder Sage
 
Posts: 4968
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2002 2:53 pm
Timezone: GMT +1

Re: ATI or Nvidia?

PostAuthor: Gorgon » Wed May 05, 2010 8:46 am

Grunt wrote:ATI used to crash the shit out of me whenever someone came out of stealth, and other such things.


Bug fixed in Bioware 1.69 update, but if you use the old walk/run animations from ages ago (with flowing cloaks for 1.68 http://nwvault.ign.com/View.php?view=Hakpaks.Detail&id=6953), the models used were from before that fix. Ironic since the files for that same thing before flowing cloaks were the fix for the stealth crash bug (http://nwvault.ign.com/View.php?view=Hakpaks.Detail&id=251), but the update to it for flowing cloaks brought the bug back after 1.69. I still keep the original in a "No Crash" version of my override folder, and it never fails. I can live with the stiffy cloaks. One of these years I'll redo the models using the new ones, and add the extra animations for horsies and long coats :P .

*Hates the walk/run animations added in HotU*
"God not only plays dice, he throws them in the corner where you can't see them."
-- Stephen William Hawking (b. 1942) --


Sprucing up ye olde NWN | Modifying nwn.ini and nwnplayer.ini | ~Rare Items Wanted~ | Stealth Modifiers
User avatar
Gorgon
QA's 2nd|CCC Mobster
QA's 2nd|CCC Mobster
 
Posts: 5886
Images: 38
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 10:14 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Timezone: PDT -7

Re: ATI or Nvidia?

PostAuthor: whirlin_merlin » Wed May 05, 2010 10:32 pm

KinX wrote:Thirdly, is it strange that I'm building a brand spanking new pc with the latest or next to latest technology and hardware and my major concern is whether it runs an 8 year old game properly?


Not really. I have a couple of older games that don't work quite right on my computer (minor video issues) and they aren't as old as NWN. My last computer was too slow though. :/ Go figure. Seems to me like new stuff messes up old stuff fairly often.
Soriel Amakiir, Warrior Maiden of Dre'Ana (deceased)
Kria Webber, sociopath visitor from Hades

whirlin_merlin
Apprentice Scholar
 
Posts: 716
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 9:20 am
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA
Timezone: GMT -8

Re: ATI or Nvidia?

PostAuthor: Tel » Wed May 05, 2010 10:46 pm

Myself I have a Nvidia something or other and the only place I've crashed in neverwinter (for video issues) was in the Drotid swamps. Whatever i have (if i reached to my PC behind my desk) could run FF-XI, Neverwinter, and something else on top of the two of those... although it started getting pretty slow around then. So needless to say i'm pretty happy with it.

whirlin_merlin wrote:
KinX wrote:Thirdly, is it strange that I'm building a brand spanking new pc with the latest or next to latest technology and hardware and my major concern is whether it runs an 8 year old game properly?


Not really. I have a couple of older games that don't work quite right on my computer (minor video issues) and they aren't as old as NWN. My last computer was too slow though. :/ Go figure. Seems to me like new stuff messes up old stuff fairly often.

Go get some of the moldy oldies that paced time off your CPU... it's a race to the you lost screen!
User avatar
Tel
Apprentice Scholar
 
Posts: 746
Images: 0
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 12:33 pm
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: ATI or Nvidia?

PostAuthor: KinX » Wed May 05, 2010 11:31 pm

Tel wrote:Go get some of the moldy oldies that paced time off your CPU... it's a race to the you lost screen!



hehe, every now and then I dust off the old gold box games, pool of radiance, curse of the azure bonds, secret of the silver blades and pools of darkness and play through the entire series with the one party.

There's nothing like making a party of six characters out of the original four character classes (only applies to radiance though).

For some reason I have this attachment to PoR, I love that game. The story and plot is just epic. I think I'll be re-playing that one til I've got grey hairs and beyond.
Never argue with an idiot, they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

Image

This statement is false
User avatar
KinX
Elder Sage
 
Posts: 4968
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2002 2:53 pm
Timezone: GMT +1

Re: ATI or Nvidia?

PostAuthor: Trole » Wed May 05, 2010 11:49 pm

:) loaded Nwn last weekened on a Win 7 machine with Crossfired 4870's, not a glitch or a hitch.. currently he's put in 20 some hours and hasn't had a crash, we didn't even run it in compatiablity mode or admin mode nothing ... Straight up loaded the game in...updated the game..installed hak packs and tlk's. So no worries
...unless vista still has issues? my Nvidia vista machine has no issues, but i don't know about ati and vista with NWN..

Trole
Prince of Bloated Discourse
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 8:00 pm

Re: ATI or Nvidia?

PostAuthor: Trole » Thu May 06, 2010 12:03 am

Grunt wrote:
Eklektikos wrote:For the record, I'm running with an Nvidia GTX260 and get fairly frequent NWN crashes due to graphics driver problems, even with shiny water turned off.

Not had an ATI card at any point, so can't comment on their reliability.


ATI used to crash the shit out of me whenever someone came out of stealth, and other such things. nVidia, the later drivers would crash me often, but now I only get the occasional one with uhh 1/11/2010 version of drivers from Windows Update (6.14.11.9621) ...don't know if that'll help you at all, but hey.



We're ( the crossfired machine) and my nvidia machine are running the latest released drivers..( nvidia just had a new set released last week of april) not sure when ATI'ss were last released. in early april i think.... anyhow I haven't had a crash with the newest Nvidia ones..197.45's off of the Nvidia site...... I have noticed My 9800 gtx+oc dosen't have the video anomolies it had for the longest time due to driver issues so they worked for me...give um a shot..

Oh if you don't have Riva tuner or the nvidia eqivalent installed on your machine, your Nvidia card will overheat...they royally screwed the pooch for thier "auto fan setting" it dosen't work your fans will not speed up when you start taxing your card..you need to manually set it through your programing.. mine are set at 80% from start up using riva tuner..
The ATI users i know just set thiers through the catalyst control center ATI provides, All 5 of them set thiers at 75-85% when they game but they do sound like jet engines ( especially the crossfired machines)..

Trole
Prince of Bloated Discourse
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 8:00 pm

Re: ATI or Nvidia?

PostAuthor: KinX » Thu May 06, 2010 1:01 am

Trole wrote:We're ( the crossfired machine) and my nvidia machine are running the latest released drivers..( nvidia just had a new set released last week of april) not sure when ATI'ss were last released. in early april i think.... anyhow I haven't had a crash with the newest Nvidia ones..197.45's off of the Nvidia site...... I have noticed My 9800 gtx+oc dosen't have the video anomolies it had for the longest time due to driver issues so they worked for me...give um a shot..

Oh if you don't have Riva tuner or the nvidia eqivalent installed on your machine, your Nvidia card will overheat...they royally screwed the pooch for thier "auto fan setting" it dosen't work your fans will not speed up when you start taxing your card..you need to manually set it through your programing.. mine are set at 80% from start up using riva tuner..
The ATI users i know just set thiers through the catalyst control center ATI provides, All 5 of them set thiers at 75-85% when they game but they do sound like jet engines ( especially the crossfired machines)..


This is great info, thanks.

I had riva tuna before, but i had to format and completely forgot to put it back on. That kinda explains some of the issues I'm having right now and why i don't remember having them before.
Never argue with an idiot, they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

Image

This statement is false
User avatar
KinX
Elder Sage
 
Posts: 4968
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2002 2:53 pm
Timezone: GMT +1

Re: ATI or Nvidia?

PostAuthor: NayalaGelbert » Thu May 06, 2010 5:18 am

Trole wrote:fans...set at 80%
Trole wrote: set thiers at 75-85% when they game but they do sound like jet engines


I <3 my passive-cooled ATI 3850! :D

NayalaGelbert
Gold Player
 
Posts: 1003
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 2:38 am

Re: ATI or Nvidia?

PostAuthor: Trole » Thu May 06, 2010 6:06 am

NayalaGelbert wrote:
I <3 my passive-cooled ATI 3850! :D


The 9800's not nearly as bad at the 4870's.. I seriously thought they were full of shit when i heard them complain, told the one to bring it over "your old ladys probably complaining cause it's that time of the month".. When he turned up the first jeesh... then he turned up the second. :shock:, at least a 20 db jump on noise.. they'd irratate anyone who would be trying to watch a movie near them with thier whirrrr..I appologized to him, He smiled and told me not to worry about it.. because of the noise he got permission to build a computer room! :lol:

Trole
Prince of Bloated Discourse
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 8:00 pm

Re: ATI or Nvidia?

PostAuthor: Beary666 » Sun Jul 25, 2010 3:00 pm

NWN works fine with Windows 7 64-bit, that's what I run at the moment
User avatar
Beary666
Elder Sage
 
Posts: 3266
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 1:29 am
Location: Edmonton, Alberta , Canada
Timezone: GMT -7

Re: ATI or Nvidia?

PostAuthor: loki70 » Sun Jul 25, 2010 4:23 pm

I do have an issue, but no idea if it is the ATI card, the ATI card I have, Win 7 64-bit, or a combination of all of them. The game will randomly drop on occasion, which rather annoying, and then start up again and run for hours. I can always tell it's about to drop when one item in the game goes completely blank, like a cloak. I think I fixed this error at one time or another before I upgraded.
Anomandari: You're the perfect needle for our balloons.
User avatar
loki70
QA Resource
 
Posts: 6977
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 3:34 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Timezone: gmt -7

Re: ATI or Nvidia?

PostAuthor: Nighthawk4 » Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:33 pm

I have always preferred nVidia, but my iMac has an ATI card and that seems fine. :wink:
Life is never as bad as you think it is, although that doesn't help at the time.

Orleron wrote:I think it's a fun idea if you can idiot-proof it. Problem is God always builds a better idiot. :P


Please visit:
Avlis UK, ACE Forum and SATF Forum

Image
User avatar
Nighthawk4
Eldest DM
Eldest DM
 
Posts: 23898
Images: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:32 pm
Location: The Home of the Bard of Avon
Timezone: GMT
DM Avatar: DruEl


Return to NWN General Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Elradra, Google [Bot], silverfields2