Server Totals
Mikona - (1)
Wilderness - (1)
Ferrell - (0)
Le'Or - (0)
Elysia - (0)
M'Chek - (0)
Deglos - (0)
Visimontium - (0)
Underdark - (0)
Total players: 2
Gallery

Links Menu

Quick Questions from a newbie

Moderators: Nighthawk4, Dungeon Masters

Quick Questions from a newbie

PostAuthor: Vinney » Thu Feb 20, 2003 10:49 pm

Ok, I have been psyched since joining this wonderful world... many Kudo's to you designers and programmers... well here goes.

1. Where can I locate an 'offline'/out-of-game map of the zones? I was playing last night with a friend and call me tainted, but having a hard copy map to work with is a BIG help.

If one is not provided (role-playing purposes... aka need to see area 1st) would it be possible to have maps for sale 'in-game' that may show points of interest (tourist map)?

2. This is a technical question. I have no prob when running NwN on my home PC. (Athlon 1800+, 512RAM, 80gig, 64meg video), but when I try to run it on my laptop (yes... I said laptop... I can use my spare time at work to game... call me lucky.) specs: Pent III 700mhz, 256meg, 14gig, 8meg video, the game crashes as soon as I get the initial load screen. I have no problem running Morrwind (has higher video requirments than NwN) and have DirectX8.1 loaded. Any suggestions?

Thanks, and hope to get to know some of you (in-game and out) soon.

Rich
AKA Vinney "Da'Ranger" Bowielder
Vinney Da'Ranger
Ranger with an attitude (and a love for pasta)
"I asked him to stop poaching the fair creatures in my woods..... when he refused, I fed him to my Direwolf....."

Vinney
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 2:02 pm

PostAuthor: Beary666 » Fri Feb 21, 2003 2:08 am

1. You can buy maps for the bartenders in the Inns. Just flip through the different tabs up top.
User avatar
Beary666
Elder Sage
 
Posts: 3265
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 1:29 am
Location: Edmonton, Alberta , Canada
Timezone: GMT -7

PostAuthor: Jordicus » Fri Feb 21, 2003 2:51 am

as for the laptop thing...

try manually setting the video to the lowest textures settings through the config utility. i think that is how I got it to run on mine... and my dell laptop is a very similar configuration to yours. and make sure you try and turn off all the advanced video settings once you get to that screen.

still the slow FPS really sucks compared to my desktop machine.....

good luck
User avatar
Jordicus
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 8048
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2003 3:46 pm
Location: Whitehall, PA (GMT -4)

PostAuthor: Vinney » Fri Feb 21, 2003 12:41 pm

My thanks to you both for your quick (and to the point) responses... I am off to train the Laptop... and then to buy some maps....
Vinney Da'Ranger
Ranger with an attitude (and a love for pasta)
"I asked him to stop poaching the fair creatures in my woods..... when he refused, I fed him to my Direwolf....."

Vinney
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 2:02 pm

Re: Quick Questions from a newbie

PostAuthor: Drakken Talbey » Fri Feb 21, 2003 5:36 pm

Vinney wrote:
Pent III 700mhz, 256meg, 14gig, 8meg video, the game crashes as soon as I get the initial load screen.



Anyone feel free to correct me here, but I believe you need 16 meg vid card or higher to play NWN.

Drakken Talbey
Prince of Bloated Discourse
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2002 12:35 am
Location: Iowa, USA

PostAuthor: Sili » Fri Feb 21, 2003 5:40 pm

yes a 16MB is required. I had a box that had one of those crappy integrated motherboards with the sound and video on board. Needless to say the game wouldn't even run. Go GeForce!!
User avatar
Sili
Gold Contributor
 
Posts: 1816
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 6:24 pm
Location: dallas, tx, GMT -5/-6?!!!

PostAuthor: Jordicus » Fri Feb 21, 2003 5:40 pm

the sys requirements do state 16MB video RAM, but the problem depends on the laptop. A lot of laptops use shared RAM for their video processing, for instance my Dell Inspiron 4000, which really only lists 8MB video RAM as well, but since it shares systtem RAM, it can actually fulfill the requirements to run the game. Like I said though, FPS really really sucks and I would never try to play online with it. I have tried multiplayer LAN and that was bad enough.
User avatar
Jordicus
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 8048
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2003 3:46 pm
Location: Whitehall, PA (GMT -4)

PostAuthor: Vinney » Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:30 pm

What suprised me was that I can run Morrowind (Elder Scrolls 3) which has a min video requirement of 16meg. Yes the FPS stinks... but I can still play.

I am not looking to play on-line with the laptop, just 'time killing single player"

I do appreciate all of the input. I put it all to the test this weekend
Vinney Da'Ranger
Ranger with an attitude (and a love for pasta)
"I asked him to stop poaching the fair creatures in my woods..... when he refused, I fed him to my Direwolf....."

Vinney
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 2:02 pm


Return to NWN General Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Google [Bot]