Server Totals
Deglos - (9)
Mikona - (1)
Le'Or - (1)
Ferrell - (0)
Elysia - (0)
M'Chek - (0)
Underdark - (0)
Wilderness - (0)
Visimontium - (0)
Total players: 11
Gallery

Links Menu

Avlis policy on: Skill Point Saving

Rules and Guidelines

Moderator: Dungeon Masters

Avlis policy on: Skill Point Saving

PostAuthor: Moredo » Tue Jul 11, 2006 11:19 pm

Clarifying yet another metagaming rule:

When you're leveling up, you're not allowed to save any skill points.

The only exception to this rule is when you have 1 skill point left and you want to take it in a cross-class skill. Then you are allowed to save that point and use it the next time you level up.
Always consider alignment as a tool, not a straitjacket that restricts the character.
— AD&D, 2nd Edition Player's Handbook
User avatar
Moredo
CCC
CCC
 
Posts: 7396
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 3:47 pm
Location: Norway (GMT +2)
Timezone: +2

PostAuthor: chilingsworth » Tue Jul 11, 2006 11:21 pm

Strange, I didn't think the engine would let you level up without spending all skill points? X:|
The sweetest obession
to keep me awake
sleep loss entailed
by the love that we make.

Don't spawn me a lover
Don't spam me with choclates
just return my affections
or just set me free

pstanton wrote:I think it is time to stop bickering like children and find a way to release Gurth from the Seal in such a way that people like Grag don't have collective heart failure.

Player of Grag Tharashk
User avatar
chilingsworth
Scholar
 
Posts: 1459
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 5:24 pm
Location: Who wants to know? (GMT -4)

PostAuthor: RCon » Tue Jul 11, 2006 11:34 pm

chilingsworth wrote:Strange, I didn't think the engine would let you level up without spending all skill points? X:|

In PnP, you cannot save skill points (although you can spend a point to acquire 1/2 skill in cross-class skills). The Bioware engine does let you save points, but as Moredo pointed out, this would obviously be considered a bad form of metagaming.
Silver Fox: I hear they've been stepping up attacks in Elysia.
Ulu Elexin: Hah, it's interesting that they are even drafting in fairies to fight them now.
Brant Risko: *snickers* Be careful... I'll tell mister Ang that ya called him a drafted fairy.
User avatar
RCon
Legacy DM
Legacy DM
 
Posts: 4719
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 2:19 am
Location: New York, NY (GMT -5)

PostAuthor: Moredo » Wed Jul 12, 2006 12:33 am

yespr wrote:what if there's 2 cross class skills i want but i cant lvl them up till next lvl because they're both at max?


Moredo wrote:The only exception to this rule is when you have 1 skill point left and you want to take it in a cross-class skill.
Always consider alignment as a tool, not a straitjacket that restricts the character.
— AD&D, 2nd Edition Player's Handbook
User avatar
Moredo
CCC
CCC
 
Posts: 7396
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 3:47 pm
Location: Norway (GMT +2)
Timezone: +2

PostAuthor: spool32 » Thu Jul 13, 2006 12:50 am

Speedracer wrote:When I reach next level, what do I do with the four extra skill points I saved from last level? I don't want to spend them if I am going to get in trouble for it.


Take ALL your banked points at next level, regardless of what level it happens to be, and don't do it again, and you're golden.

-spool32
User avatar
spool32
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 13283
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 6:12 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Timezone: GMT -6

Re: Avlis policy on: Skill Point Saving

PostAuthor: deejayvee » Fri Jul 28, 2006 4:32 am

Moredo wrote:The only exception to this rule is when you have 1 skill point left and you want to take it in a cross-class skill.


I am just giving some thought to my next couple of levels, and I've come up with a situation that I think is okay, but want to clarify.

Basically the situation is that at next level I want to take a Fighter level. I get 5 skill points. 2 of these will be spent on class skills and 2 on a non-class skill, leaving 1 point left over. I don't want to take any more class skills at that level, and would like to store it up, as per Moredo's original statement, as I'd like to put it towards a cross-class skill (Spot). I think that part is fine.

However, at the next level, I wanted to take weaponmaster but here's where it gets tricky. The skill (Spot) is now a class skill. Therefore I can up that skill by 2, 1 earned this level and 1 earned last level. Is doing so going to break this rule?
User avatar
deejayvee
Apprentice Scholar
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 3:14 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Avlis policy on: Skill Point Saving

PostAuthor: spool32 » Fri Jul 28, 2006 5:13 am

deejayvee wrote:
Moredo wrote:The only exception to this rule is when you have 1 skill point left and you want to take it in a cross-class skill.


I am just giving some thought to my next couple of levels, and I've come up with a situation that I think is okay, but want to clarify.

Basically the situation is that at next level I want to take a Fighter level. I get 5 skill points. 2 of these will be spent on class skills and 2 on a non-class skill, leaving 1 point left over. I don't want to take any more class skills at that level, and would like to store it up, as per Moredo's original statement, as I'd like to put it towards a cross-class skill (Spot). I think that part is fine.

However, at the next level, I wanted to take weaponmaster but here's where it gets tricky. The skill (Spot) is now a class skill. Therefore I can up that skill by 2, 1 earned this level and 1 earned last level. Is doing so going to break this rule?


You banked one point, and one point only... but you're not doing so to spend it next lvl on a cross class skill so yes, it would break the rule. Spend it on a cross class skill next level, or on a class skill this level.

-spool32
User avatar
spool32
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 13283
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 6:12 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Timezone: GMT -6

PostAuthor: Moredo » Fri Jul 28, 2006 9:16 am

Sorry to be a hardass about this but there are no personal interpretations when it comes to rules.

If you don't intend to level up as the same class next level, (most people know what level they'll take next) then you should use all your points and not save any. Saving one point is the exception, not the rule itself.
Always consider alignment as a tool, not a straitjacket that restricts the character.
— AD&D, 2nd Edition Player's Handbook
User avatar
Moredo
CCC
CCC
 
Posts: 7396
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 3:47 pm
Location: Norway (GMT +2)
Timezone: +2

PostAuthor: pp » Wed Oct 04, 2006 3:57 am

I took a custom race that gives me -2 to Int, so I have 4 more skill points than I should have. Should I spend those, or would that make my character illegal?

pp
Scholar of Fools
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 5:31 am

PostAuthor: Tesh » Wed Oct 04, 2006 4:12 am

Ok, You have four extra skill points?

At which statge, before going to the Gollum to be converted?

If that's the case that is fine :)

If you have skill points left after being coverted to your Half Ogre, Gnoll or Changeling then you have underspent.
Roland of Gilead wrote:I told you we deal in lead, and so we do. But that doesn't make us hired guns.

Belkar wrote:One order of gluttony with a side of coriuption, please.
User avatar
Tesh
Quest Designer
Quest Designer
 
Posts: 1423
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:58 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Timezone: GMT +12

Re: Avlis policy on: Skill Point Saving

PostAuthor: Moredo » Mon Jul 28, 2008 7:29 pm

BUMP
User avatar
Moredo
CCC
CCC
 
Posts: 7396
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 3:47 pm
Location: Norway (GMT +2)
Timezone: +2

Re: Avlis policy on: Skill Point Saving

PostAuthor: wolfwielder » Mon Jul 28, 2008 7:35 pm

I have an alt who only has 4 class skills. After I spend the points appropriately I spend 2 skill point on a cross-class skill, which leaves me with 1 skill point left over and no skill I can spend it on.

Is this acceptable?
User avatar
wolfwielder
Team Member; Retired with Honors
 
Posts: 6692
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 6:14 pm
Location: Hidely ho neighbor!
Timezone: GMT -5/-4
DM Avatar: Balgar

Re: Avlis policy on: Skill Point Saving

PostAuthor: RCon » Mon Jul 28, 2008 7:39 pm

wolfwielder wrote:I have an alt who only has 4 class skills. After I spend the points appropriately I spend 2 skill point on a cross-class skill, which leaves me with 1 skill point left over and no skill I can spend it on.

Is this acceptable?

Yup, no problem there, as that would fall into the exception listed under Moredo's original post.
Silver Fox: I hear they've been stepping up attacks in Elysia.
Ulu Elexin: Hah, it's interesting that they are even drafting in fairies to fight them now.
Brant Risko: *snickers* Be careful... I'll tell mister Ang that ya called him a drafted fairy.
User avatar
RCon
Legacy DM
Legacy DM
 
Posts: 4719
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 2:19 am
Location: New York, NY (GMT -5)


Return to Rules

Who is online

Registered users: Akai, Google [Bot]